We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh my for o'mei” 2 of 5 stars
Review of O'mei Restaurant

O'mei Restaurant
2316 Mission St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5246
831-425-8458
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #201 of 328 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Oh my for o'mei”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Not the Chinese food I am used to. I did not like the food. Service was excellent and it was clean and that is all I have to say about that

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    3
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very very nice place to go out to eat!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I'd definitely give this place 5 out of 5 stars without a doubt!! This restaurant is very nice. high quality gourmet food selection, with excellent service and flavors. A def. should try place if you've never been try it!! You'll LOVE it!! Trust me!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Chinese Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I've never thought Chinese food was comparable to French, Italian or Asia-Pacific until I went to Omei. Although this restaurant is in a strip mall and has no view, it's still the restaurant I take my family to when they visit from out of town.

The food is delicious with wonderful spices. The owner told years ago that he travels to China twice a year to get the spices. I don't know if he still does but the entire menu is out of this world!

If you like creative, fresh, one-of-a-kind meals, you'll love Omei.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Used to be great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Changes over the past years have taken this place from excellent to just OK.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“BEST Chinese food around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Pricey but worth it! The food is any foodie's dream! Corn/shrimp dish is out of this world!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'mei Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to O'mei Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'mei Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.