We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, but affordable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Seaway Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Seaway Inn to your Saves list
Seaway Inn
176 West Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Quirky, but affordable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

On a recent business trip I had to limit my hotel choices because of the high prices in Santa Cruz, among some of the highest in the country. This motel-style hotel, where all of the rooms open onto the parking lot, was a reasonable alternative. The bed was comfortable, the breakfast adequate, and we did have one free parking space, all amenities that come at a premium in Santa Cruz. The layout of these rooms is unusual and, I think, ends up wasting space. The front door to the room is a sliding glass patio door, set at a 30 degree angle from the other walls in the room. This creates an open triangle of floor space when entering the room; maybe this is a good place to drop your surfboard when you're here on vacation. However, this arrangement makes the rest of the room cramped. When trying to work on my computer at the small table, making a cup of coffee, or laying out my suitcase, I was always twisting and turning, needing to take three extra moves and turns for what should have been one. The shower was very spacious and comfortable, but the remainder of the bathroom must be described as cramped. The staff member that checked us in was terse, but professional. The other staff people I interacted with during my stay were much more friendly. The next time my work takes me to Santa Cruz I will probably check out other options.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. I was sorry to hear that you were uncomfortable, due to the cramped spaces of the room. I can assure you that I have directed that comment to the owners and they have forwarded your concerns to a decorator, to see what we may be able to do about the issue. It's unfortunate that you are not anticipating a return, but we do hope to see you in the future, should you change your mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    74
    24
    12
    17
See reviews for
49
49
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I want to recognize the staff of the Seaway Inn. They are really great! The property is really clean, and in a nice location, but the staff really make you feel like a truly appreciated person not just a "hotel guest." Stephanie, the inn manager, makes a real effort to be a great leader. Robert and Hailey were also good to us. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that my staff, and myself, were as accommodating as can be, during your stay. We very much look forward to seeing you again. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Santa Cruz lodging is pricey. We love the Seaway Inn for it's proximity to downtown, the wharf, the Boardwalk, Steamer Lane and Wast Cliff Drive - they're all walkable! Our suite would have slept 5 or 6; it was very large and comfortable. The breakfasts offer variety and the coffee's not bad. There's waffles and deluxe pastries on the weekends but there's always yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, cereal, oatmeal and fruit.
It's $110 cheaper than the Dream Inn across the street - the trick is to pick a view room. Ours was over the office and had the BEST view - see pic.
Minuses - stairs to the second level and parking is tight. If they run out you park in the lot next door and get validated at the Dream Inn - kind of a hassle.
Overall, I think it's one of the best deals in Santa Cruz.

Room Tip: Room 221 is over the office and awesome. Rooms 227-230 look directly out at the Boardwalk and the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations. Unfortunately, you are correct about our parking situation, as we do have 4 less spots than guest rooms, but luckily, the Dream Inn does allow us to use their parking lot as overflow, when we fill up. We would love to see you again, should you be in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in October and really enjoyed Santa Cruz. The staff were helpful enough and the room was a good size and very clean. The wifi was great and is free! The complimentary breakfast was great and there was a excellent choice.

The location is great as it is only a 2 min walk to the beach and boardwalk and you can walk to downtown Santa Cruz in 5 mins.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed all of the amenities, that we had to offer, as well as our location. We very much look forward to seeing you again, should you be in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, california
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were traveling from Napa to Big Sur and stayed here. It was a nice motel. The staff was very helpful. There was plenty of parking. The location was fabulous. The breakfast was good. Loved the pier and the walks along the bluffs. And it is true!!! Santa Cruz does light up the beach with their own fireworks!! I was impressed! Get your reservations early.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your July 4th holiday with us, this year, and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This motel had tired rooms but the breakfast area and selection was very good. Think twice about booking if reliable Wifi is a high priority. Overall comfortable but quirky in places. For example, you had to ask for a hair dryer from reception if you needed to use one. Great location for the pier and boardwalk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. We have contacted you in regards to the WI FI issue and thank you for the reply. Hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were here for a wedding, so this may have been a "busy" weekend, but the cost of almost $300 per night was WAY too much for this room. We rented the "family" room since there were four adults and it was their last available room, but basically it was one cramped small room barely big enough for the two beds, and a "main" room with a futon, which was small and oddly laid out as well - there was really not much common space, and no table, just a desk. In other words, there's not a lot of space to BE when you aren't in your bed! One of the two main lights did not work, so it was dark as well, as the windows were small and high. Every time we asked for something - ice, extra towels - they asked us WHY we wanted it, as if they're used to abusive guests!

On the other hand, it was very clean, and they have done what they can to make it nice with flowers, deck chairs (chained down, beware they don't move!), and little touches such as starfish drawer pulls that were cute. Parking was not an issue. Also, it really is VERY close to the boardwalk, and the trolley stop to downtown. And the breakfast was nice. But for the cost, it was not worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property on Trip Advisor.
I was disturbed to hear that one of your lights didn't work and that we were unable to assist you with that, as that particular light was more than likely controlled by the switch, on the wall, and the person at the desk should have provided you with that information.
We do have tables and chairs in all of our rooms, yours would have been on the side with the two queen beds, again due to the size of the room, it is difficult to fit a lot of furniture.
We feel that our rates are very competitively priced, considering that we are in peak season, our location, and the amenities that we have to offer, but do respect your opinion, in regards to the size of the room and not feeling that you received your moneys worth.
We hope that you enjoyed Santa Cruz, and would love to see you again, should you be in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaway Inn

Address: 176 West Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaway Inn is a charming Santa Cruz hotel perched on a hillside overlooking the gorgeous Monterey Bay. It has all the warmth and coziness of a classic beach hotel with a full array of modern amenities. It is just a short walk to family fun at the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, world-class surfing at Steamer Lane, fine dining at the Municipal Wharf, and unique shops and entertainment in bustling Downtown Santa Cruz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Seaway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaway Hotel Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.