We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected - would recommend!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seaway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Seaway Inn to your Saves list
Seaway Inn
176 West Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Better than expected - would recommend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Pulling up from San Francisco in our hire car I was pleasantly surprised at the location of the Seaway Inn and first impression. It looked as if it has overtone a bit of a makeover and the floweing red geraniums in the flower boxes really made it appealing. We got a car space easily in the lot, which was free!

Unfortunately the front desk left little to be desired. She was robotic, not friendly and a simple welcome, would you like any information on your stay etc would have made a great impression, she needs to work on her eye contact with customers and learn to smile. I didn't catch her name but she had short hair and was around alot.

The room which was on the balcony level, that I had requested was perfect. Oversized with a king size comfortable bed, remodeled bathroom and new carpets and what I believe to be a new lick of paint. The aircon worked well and it was nice to open all the windows and let the sea breeze come in. The negative is we were te second room from the corner and had to fight for the lounge chairs if there were people staying either side of us. It was also noisy when people congregated outside your room and decided to sit on the chairs, even if their rooms were nowhere near yours! More chairs or something should be considered.

Overall the cleanliness was excellent, view and location was excellent for Santa Cruz. You can take a 25c trolley into downtown which is worth the trip. Shogun Japanese directly opp the downtown stop is great and there are some nice little delicatessens and juice bars.

I would recommend this hotel and definitely stay here again. First time to Santa Cruz so the Seaway inn was a perfect choice for location. Just work on your front desk, show a little more interpersonal skills and remember people are traveling from across the other side of the world to stay with you!



  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. We are currently in the process of attempting to get some more chairs, to put on the rest of the lower floor, unfortunately, there is no room upstairs for any more chairs than we already have up there.
I have contacted you privately, to discuss the clerk who helped you at check in. You are very correct, on that part, you should receive a nice and friendly welcome, when you arrive at any lodging facility.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall and very much look forward to seeing you, should you be in our area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    81
    27
    12
    17
See reviews for
54
56
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The "Seaway Inn," is located on the hill, across the street from Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk & Pier. As soon as we arrived, the staff was very friendly & professional. Our room was ready, even though we checked in a few hours ahead of schedule. The staff was very kind to our therapy in training dog, who happens to be very large (looks like a great dane & lab) and did not discriminate against her size. Our room had a sliding glass door & large window that overlooked the parking lot and the Pacific Ocean across the street. We enjoyed sitting outside and/or in our room watching the beach. On Friday nights, you can hear the Boardwalk beach concerts from the hotel. We enjoyed sitting on the patio listening to the 80's band "ABC." Our room was very large, with a king size bed, walk-in closet, huge remodeled bathroom, new flat screen tv, coffee maker, mini fridge & small indoor bistro table. Everything in the room was lean, bright & cheerful. My family has been visiting Santa Cruz for the past thirty years for Summer Vacation and this is by far the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in here. The only thing I wish the Seaway Inn had was a pool/hot tub, however the ocean is right across the street. We will return to the Seaway Inn, next time we are in Santa Cruz.

Room Tip: A room along the back, so you have a view of the Ocean & Boardwalk, instead of the inn next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property, on Trip Advisor. I do remember you and you happened to get our partially handicapped king room; that particular room is the only one of it's type and so it is the largest king that we have, all of our other standard king rooms are on the smaller side. We hope to see you the next time that you happen to be in Santa Cruz!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This motel/inn has a lot of high ratings, but I would never chose to stay here again. I stayed in 4 hotel/motels on a recent trip through the SF Bay Area and this was by far my least favorite.

First the few good things: the beds were comfortable and and I did sleep well. The location is just a block away from the pier and about 2-3 blocks from the boardwalk. I also liked that the bathroom had a window so we could get some nice cross ventilation and I was able to sleep with it slightly cracked at night. They also only didn't require a 2-night stay like so many of the local hotels in the area. However there are many bad things that outweigh the good.

My son and I stayed in a double queen. The price for our Saturday stay in June was $252 - way too much in my opinion for this tiny room. We barely had a spot to put our suitcases and it felt cramped. We also discovered that it had few outlets for recharging phones and iPads. We had to unplug a lamp and we discovered it didn't work with our recharger so we recharged in the bathroom. Even then the outlet was old and our rechargers barely stay plugged in. We had to take turns since there was only one outlet.

The entry is a bit odd. You enter through the sliding glass door. Yes, it has a beach view but barely. There are some chairs on the "deck" (walkway really) but not enough. One group of loud gossipy women who were drinking wine and cussing up a storm took all but one of the chairs. It wasn't very relaxing for me. It's also on a noisy busy street, but it did quiet down by 10 pm.

The breakfast was okay. Dry cereals which suited my son just fine, waffle maker, some pastries, toast, yogurt, fruit. Pretty standard but less selection than the Hamptons I stayed at on my trip.

Another annoying aspect of the Seaway Inn is the lack of parking. There are only about 12 or so spaces for a hotel that has 18 rooms. I had to park in the lot behind the hotel, get a ticket that was validated by the Dream Inn. It's their lot but no charge to Seaway Inn guests. It's a hassle, esp. if you plan to go out (I had planned to go out to the Crow's Nest for dinner but ditched that plan due to the parking hassle.)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property.
We are currently attempting to find a solution to our electrical outlet issue, we are an older property so our electrical set up was sufficient at one point, but hasn't been upgraded to accommodate charging for so many modern gadgets.
You are correct about our parking; we have 6 less spots on our main property, then we have rooms. This is due to the fact that this building was once owned by the hotel across the street and used as overflow accommodations. I can understand how this can be inconvenient; we are appreciative that the Dream Inn allows us to use their lot for our overflow parking at no charge, so this ensures us that we do have parking for all of our guests, as we just do not have the space to accommodate more spots.
As far as the disturbance that you encountered, while you were here, had we been aware that there was an issue, we would have immediately taken care of it as we have a very strict noise policy here. We want all of our guests to be comfortable during their stay with us.
It is unfortunate that you will not be visiting us again, we do however thank you for your previous patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This place is literally a 3 min walk to the boardwalk and maybe 10 to downtown. It is one of the cheaper decent hotels but Santa Cruz is a bit pricey! We stayed in a upstairs renovated queen room and loved it! Comfy bed and awesome double headed shower! No hot tub/pool but the beach is just seconds away!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property! We are happy to hear that you liked the location that we are in as it is very easy to get all over this general area from here. We hope to see you the next time that you visit our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Walking distance to the pier and boardwalk -Seaway Inn is a perfect place to stay in the summer. A bit of a hike to the shops downtown, though, and located on an awkward corner traffic wise.

Our room was small, but clean and the bed very comfy. Small fridge and coffee maker were nice touches. Would have been nicer to have somewhere to charge our phones besides the bathroom.

Breakfast room was lovely, with a nice selection of cereal and baked goods, toaster and a waffle station. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: In a two story motel like place I always choose the upper floor - bonus here is you can see the bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our property! We are in the process of figuring out a way that we can safely add more electrical outlets to the room, as we are an older property. We hope to have that initiated by you next visit!
Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay here again as it is such a great location to the boardwalk and wharf. 5 to 10 minute walk to both. The first time here our room was a bit small, so now with our daughter we opted for a larger room with a view. Room 221 right above the office. Has a great view of the ocean. 2 queen beds and a futon. It is a very large and functional room with a mini fridge. Worked perfect for us and the continental breakfast is great too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property, on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to know that you came back to us again and look forward to seeing you, should you ever be in Santa Cruz, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

If you want a closet size room, like sleeping inside a closet ok. If you have any luggage you can't even walk by the luggage , this room was dirty, small and icky.
I was here in business and all rooms were booked due too some convention or something. I have a feeling they are writing their own reviews, lol. Because this place was just ICK.

Parking horrible. Clerk was well no eye contact and not interested. Just rude and horrible. Please don't even respond with your B.S. robotic "WE are so sorry we are so upset you had issues", because I never in my life will be in the position again, I will plan ahead from now on. ICK!!!

Room Tip: Avoid , really gross..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Guest did ask us not to respond; privately emailed guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.1 mi away
Sea and Sand Inn
Sea and Sand Inn
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.3 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#27 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
0.0 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaway Inn

Address: 176 West Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaway Inn is a charming Santa Cruz hotel perched on a hillside overlooking the gorgeous Monterey Bay. It has all the warmth and coziness of a classic beach hotel with a full array of modern amenities. It is just a short walk to family fun at the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, world-class surfing at Steamer Lane, fine dining at the Municipal Wharf, and unique shops and entertainment in bustling Downtown Santa Cruz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Seaway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaway Hotel Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.