We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and friendly!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seaway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Seaway Inn to your Saves list
Seaway Inn
176 West Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Affordable and friendly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Excellent location next to the beach and a few minutes walk to downtown Santa Cruz. Clean, basic and quiet rooms. Very helpful, friendly staff. American (bagels, pancakes, muffins, yoghurt, cereals, juice and coffee) breakfast included!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your generous review of our property on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to hear that you were pleased with our accommodations, friendliness and location of our property. We, very much, hope to see you in the future, should you be back in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    81
    26
    12
    17
See reviews for
53
55
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This place suited us perfectly and we would come back any time. We arrived in Santa Cruz mid-morning and wanted an ocean-view motel, so we drove to West Cliff Drive and went in to different places. Here, Stephanie told us that a room with a view would be available but checkin time would be about 3 pm. Okay. There was room in the lot so we brought our car in and went for a long walk on the beach and wharf. Just as we sat down to lunch in a wharf restaurant about 12:30, my cellphone rang and it was Stephanie saying our room was ready. Great!

This motel has clearly been renovated, and we both enjoyed the shower stall. The night before, we had been in another city in a national chain motel with lots of space but no soul. This little room had no place to hang clothes except the hooks on the back of the bathroom door, and the counter around the sink was small, but hey, no problem, worth it to gaze out at the ocean... bay, actually.

Room Tip: We had 229, and it had one of the better views... 230 also would.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
I am glad that our property offered a nice and comfortable stay for you. This room does actually have a very large closet, behind the big mirrors. I am also happy that we were able to get you in before check in time, we try to do that for all guests if they let us know ahead of time. We hope to see you the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We needed to select a spot between Napa Valley and Paso Robles and I always wanted to see the birthplace of surfing as a teen so Santa Cruz was the logical choice. We were tossed between 2 locations on Ocean St. but we weren’t completely sure of the area and there were too many complaints about parking. We kept looking and I read some recommendations from some forum experts regarding the Seaway Inn. I loved the area right off, right across the street from the Dream Inn, there were no complaints about the parking it looked good. The problem? It was a motel. I haven’t stayed at a true motel in decades. We decided to give it a shot and I want to give a big thank you to the Seaway Inn and the location experts here on TA for giving us an old fashioned surf city stay.

LOCATION: great location right on the main street that follows the ocean. You could easily walk to both the wharf and the boardwalk / amusement park. Huge plus.

STAFF: The staff in the office when we checked in and checked out were pleasant, friendly and helpful with recommendations.

BREAKFAST: The breakfast room was newly renovated and very attractive. There was a large TV and a PC for guest use. The breakfast was the usual, very similar you get at the other comparable hotel chains except this one was better because most items were individually packaged. I really liked that. Individual, juice, milk, cereal, eggs hard boiled and still in the shell. Sometimes they are peeled and that doesn’t appeal to me. There were also waffles and oatmeal available. It was all round very enjoyable

ROOMS: OK the rooms were small. However, very functional and that’s what’s important. They had touches that really showed some TLC. In a word the room was very cute. It was beachy and bright the bathroom was just remodeled in yellow and had a nice modern bowl sink. The bed was fairly comfortable I had a good sleep and that is important to me. The TV had a good selection of TV stations. In the morning we enjoyed a great view of the ocean and the waterfront. The outdoor décor and landscaping was very nice and again great personal touches. That is what this hotel was about. Our room was #229 and the one on the farthest end from the office (next door to our) was #230 it was probably much bigger. It may be worth the extra $$$ if you are staying more than a couple of nights.

Room Tip: If you don't mind bringing your luggage upstairs the second floor (rooms #228, 229, 230) had nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your very detailed description of our property on Trip Advisor! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, got to enjoy Santa Cruz and hope that it was all that you expected it to be. We would really like to see you again, if you happen to be back in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My son and I and our 3 dogs stayed here for 3 days in October. Short distance from the Boardwalk and the wharf, but needs some updating. Also, not many rooms with views of the bay but not really their fault. A large (and expensive) hotel was build right in front of it.
I chose this hotel because it was small (only 18 rooms) and one of my dogs is really old and I didn't want a bunch of noise. It was quiet and has thick walls so you don't hear every conversation from every room.
One of the shining spots was the late afternoon office person,. She was a joy to deal with.
I have NEVER written a review. But in this case, I not only wrote a review but emailed the hotel group about her.
If you are looking for a 5 star hotel with all the amenities, this is not your hotel, If you are looking for a quiet, cozy hotel with good people running it, it is.

Room Tip: the 2 "suites" have no view what so ever. They are in the joint of the "L"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
I am happy to hear that a staff member was one of the highlights of your stay and am overjoyed that you decided to write your first review on her behalf, I'm sure that the owner will appreciate the email that you sent . Most of our rooms have been updated, but we can always use a little more modernization. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Booked here for 1 night when traveling south but stayed for 2 ! Great location near beach and Wharf and 10 minute walk downtown Santa Cruz. Good base to travel to Monterey and Carmel. Very helpful staff, nice clean rooms and good shower. Continental style buffet breakfast. Extremely good value for money. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
It is my belief that word of mouth is the best advertisement that we can get! Thank you for your review of our property on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Used trip adviser to find this place and wasn't disappointed. Great room great breakfast good rate and wonderful friendly helpful staff. We were planning to stay only one night and stayed two!! Complementary coffee and snax till 10pm felt more like a 4star hotel. The staff here would probably make good tour guides.

Room Tip: Hotel has undergone room refurbishment which is great some rooms haven't had new bathroom yet.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
There's always something to see in our town and we always attempt to be knowledgeable on the goings on in the area. Thank you for your review of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

we had an amazing stay at seaway inn..what you get for this price is great!also the breakfast was more then Continental, they also offer cheap bike rentals, great to explore santa cruz!we will be back on our nxt california trip!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
We do have the beach cruisers available to our guests for a minimal fee per hour, they have been a great addition to our inn. We are very proud of our breakfast variety, we try to offer as much as we can. I hope that your visit to California was what you expected it to be, if not better and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.1 mi away
Sea and Sand Inn
Sea and Sand Inn
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#28 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
0.0 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaway Inn

Address: 176 West Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaway Inn is a charming Santa Cruz hotel perched on a hillside overlooking the gorgeous Monterey Bay. It has all the warmth and coziness of a classic beach hotel with a full array of modern amenities. It is just a short walk to family fun at the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, world-class surfing at Steamer Lane, fine dining at the Municipal Wharf, and unique shops and entertainment in bustling Downtown Santa Cruz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Seaway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaway Hotel Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.