We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good, but could use a little upgrading” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Seaway Inn

Save Saved
You added Seaway Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seaway Inn
176 West Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Irvine, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good, but could use a little upgrading”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My son and I and our 3 dogs stayed here for 3 days in October. Short distance from the Boardwalk and the wharf, but needs some updating. Also, not many rooms with views of the bay but not really their fault. A large (and expensive) hotel was build right in front of it.
I chose this hotel because it was small (only 18 rooms) and one of my dogs is really old and I didn't want a bunch of noise. It was quiet and has thick walls so you don't hear every conversation from every room.
One of the shining spots was the late afternoon office person,. She was a joy to deal with.
I have NEVER written a review. But in this case, I not only wrote a review but emailed the hotel group about her.
If you are looking for a 5 star hotel with all the amenities, this is not your hotel, If you are looking for a quiet, cozy hotel with good people running it, it is.

Room Tip: the 2 "suites" have no view what so ever. They are in the joint of the "L"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
I am happy to hear that a staff member was one of the highlights of your stay and am overjoyed that you decided to write your first review on her behalf, I'm sure that the owner will appreciate the email that you sent . Most of our rooms have been updated, but we can always use a little more modernization. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    63
    22
    12
    16
See reviews for
42
38
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Booked here for 1 night when traveling south but stayed for 2 ! Great location near beach and Wharf and 10 minute walk downtown Santa Cruz. Good base to travel to Monterey and Carmel. Very helpful staff, nice clean rooms and good shower. Continental style buffet breakfast. Extremely good value for money. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
It is my belief that word of mouth is the best advertisement that we can get! Thank you for your review of our property on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Used trip adviser to find this place and wasn't disappointed. Great room great breakfast good rate and wonderful friendly helpful staff. We were planning to stay only one night and stayed two!! Complementary coffee and snax till 10pm felt more like a 4star hotel. The staff here would probably make good tour guides.

Room Tip: Hotel has undergone room refurbishment which is great some rooms haven't had new bathroom yet.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
There's always something to see in our town and we always attempt to be knowledgeable on the goings on in the area. Thank you for your review of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

we had an amazing stay at seaway inn..what you get for this price is great!also the breakfast was more then Continental, they also offer cheap bike rentals, great to explore santa cruz!we will be back on our nxt california trip!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
We do have the beach cruisers available to our guests for a minimal fee per hour, they have been a great addition to our inn. We are very proud of our breakfast variety, we try to offer as much as we can. I hope that your visit to California was what you expected it to be, if not better and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We walked into this hotel while searching for accommodation near the pier. Everything about it is fantastic - the rooms are very large for the price,and tidy to a fault; the management warm and helpful. To cite one instance, we were looking for geared bikes and Stephanie helped us out by calling up two rental companies to find out if they had them.
We hadn't planned on staying an extra day in Santa Cruz, but thanks in part to how much like home it felt here, we did just that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
When a guest is interested in something, we attempt to get as much information for them as possible, and now we know, for future guests, at least one local business that rents out geared bikes, should our cruisers not be sufficient enough for what the guest needs require.
You were lucky in your rooms as you got the partially handicapped king room, which is much larger than our standard king rooms. The second night, you got a two room suite, which is great for larger families! I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stopped for one night on our way south from San Francisco. The management obviously take great pride in this facility and there are lots of little extras which we didn't find in other similar properties on our road trip. The bed was comfortable, the bed linen and other fabrics were of a good quality and we had a large walk in shower with a supply of good quality bath soaps. The staff were welcoming and friendly. There was free coffee available in reception and a nice continental breakfast available in the morning.

Although we got there to late to use them, the motel has a couple of beach cruiser bikes which guests have access to.

All in all, a nice place to stay with that added personal touch you don't seem to get from the bigger chains.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We rely on guests, like yourself, to provide any input, both good and bad, so we can better serve our guests. We look forward to seeing you again, if you happen to be in Santa Cruz in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was our 3rd visit to seaway inn. We stayed in an ocean view room for 2 nights. First of all Stephanie at the front desk is a doll and the house keeping staff remembered or son liked sand dollars from last year and left him one. The waffles at breakfast are yummy and the location and size of the "suite" were perfect. The furnishings show their wear just a bit, but for a third of the price of the dream inn across the street it's a great value. We'll be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your review of our inn. We look forward to seeing you the next time that you are in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaway Inn

Address: 176 West Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaway Inn is a charming Santa Cruz hotel perched on a hillside overlooking the gorgeous Monterey Bay. It has all the warmth and coziness of a classic beach hotel with a full array of modern amenities. It is just a short walk to family fun at the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, world-class surfing at Steamer Lane, fine dining at the Municipal Wharf, and unique shops and entertainment in bustling Downtown Santa Cruz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Seaway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaway Hotel Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.