We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint little motel right by the Pier” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seaway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Seaway Inn to your Saves list
Seaway Inn
176 West Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quaint little motel right by the Pier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stopped for one night on our way south from San Francisco. The management obviously take great pride in this facility and there are lots of little extras which we didn't find in other similar properties on our road trip. The bed was comfortable, the bed linen and other fabrics were of a good quality and we had a large walk in shower with a supply of good quality bath soaps. The staff were welcoming and friendly. There was free coffee available in reception and a nice continental breakfast available in the morning.

Although we got there to late to use them, the motel has a couple of beach cruiser bikes which guests have access to.

All in all, a nice place to stay with that added personal touch you don't seem to get from the bigger chains.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We rely on guests, like yourself, to provide any input, both good and bad, so we can better serve our guests. We look forward to seeing you again, if you happen to be in Santa Cruz in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    79
    24
    12
    17
See reviews for
52
53
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was our 3rd visit to seaway inn. We stayed in an ocean view room for 2 nights. First of all Stephanie at the front desk is a doll and the house keeping staff remembered or son liked sand dollars from last year and left him one. The waffles at breakfast are yummy and the location and size of the "suite" were perfect. The furnishings show their wear just a bit, but for a third of the price of the dream inn across the street it's a great value. We'll be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your review of our inn. We look forward to seeing you the next time that you are in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streetsboro, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

If you are looking at this property, I'm guessing you love the location but aren't sure about the hotel itself. The hotel is in fair condition and the rooms are average overall. In short, there is nothing about the condition that should make you pass on the prime location near the boardwalk. You know you aren't booking a deluxe ocean resort at this price so be reasonable. You need to accept a few small flaws, enjoy the view, and appreciate being able to walk to many local attractions and restaurants. Take the extra second to make waffles for breakfast. They're very good. A note on parking...it can be challenging but the hotel has an overflow plan that shouldn't be too much of an inconvenience.

Room Tip: Book early and get an ocean view room on the second floor. It is a true ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property on Trip Advisor. We enjoy being so well situated, on West Cliff Drive, and I do inform guests to remain parked, if they can avoid moving; you are correct however, we do have overflow parking directly behind our property. We hope to see you the next time that you happen to be in Santa Cruz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at their annex on Second Street for two nights and really enjoyed it. We spent most of our time at the beach and so loved that it was just across the street from the warf. There is also a free nature conservation museum that just opened up across the street, so between that, the ocean, the boardwalk and the warf, we had lots of close attractions.The boardwalk was packed the nights we were there, but the annex is sort of hidden, we didn't hear much noise. The annex came with a full kitchen, which was nice. The room was very clean and had great parking. We walked everywhere. Overall, it was a great trip and we look forward to coming back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your feed back of our property on Trip Advisor, we look forward to seeing you the next time that you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The place was nice and close to everything but for paying over $500 for 2 nights you would think they can give you a bed that's not broke down and need to be replaced we woke up and are back all hurt and if you didn't sleep in the middle of the bed you would role off.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
We are sorry to hear that our beds were uncomfortable. Did you happen to mention that to the clerk when you checked out on your departure date. I will make sure to let the owner know that the beds should be replaced as soon as possible. We hope that this doesn't detour you away from our property the next time that you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here for one night. Great location!! Because everything was so near we walked everywhere.. The room was okay, it was pretty clean, but the carpet had a huge stain on it.. Dunno what it was from?:/ also we got the room with the sea view, there wasn't much of a sea view lol!! So I think we were overcharges for that. But overall good stay at this place.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property, on Trip Advisor. Unfortunately, we are across the street from the ocean, so we do have some obstructions to some of our ocean view rooms; all of our rooms that are specified to be an ocean view, do have an ocean view however and we work with what we have.
We do try to clean the carpets as soon as we notice any spots on them, but being so full throughout the summer, it's better to spot clean as the next guest probably wouldn't like to have a wet carpet, when they check in. We do like to know all guest feedback so thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Walking distance to the Boardwalk. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Beds were very comfortable and the bathroom in the Deluxe Ocean View suite was very nice. Although our room overlooked the street and was above the lobby we didn't hear any noise at all.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Deluxe Ocean View suite. A little cramped with a family with 3 teenagers but it wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for you review of our property. The next time that you visit Santa Cruz, maybe you would like to try our King/Queen combo; that room is what I usually recommend for families with teenagers as it is a two room suite and you have separate rooms and two TV's. The room doesn't have an ocean view, as it is on the 1st floor and is one of the rooms with out the remodeled shower, but it does allow for a little extra move about space and some privacy as it has two separate dwelling areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaway Inn

Address: 176 West Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaway Inn is a charming Santa Cruz hotel perched on a hillside overlooking the gorgeous Monterey Bay. It has all the warmth and coziness of a classic beach hotel with a full array of modern amenities. It is just a short walk to family fun at the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, world-class surfing at Steamer Lane, fine dining at the Municipal Wharf, and unique shops and entertainment in bustling Downtown Santa Cruz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Seaway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaway Hotel Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.