We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL OCEAN VIEWS!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seaway Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Seaway Inn to your Saves list
Seaway Inn
176 West Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Fresno, California
1 review
“WONDERFUL OCEAN VIEWS!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

OMG!!! This small inn was great, very comfortable beds, good continental breakfast, friendly helpful staff & wonderful beautiful ocean views (need to make sure you emphasize/request ocean view) make sure you check & recheck your reservations even if you made them in advance. Just hop skip & jump away from the boardwalk but be careful you must walk up & down hill tough hike for walker or push wheelchair but a breeze for motorized wheelchair!!!! Great dining & restaraunts just steps away with variety of great eats if you are a foodie!!!!! May i say very accessible for the disabled. Although no elevators you still have lower level room. However no pool or ja uzzi???? Excellent stay my family & I really enjoyed!!!! Thank you!!!!!!

Room Tip: No pool no jacuzzi!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
We appreciate the feedback, in regards to your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    79
    24
    12
    17
See reviews for
52
53
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed ehre when we learned the Dream Inn, directly acrtoss the street does not accept even the best mannered pet. We had the larger room at the top of the stairs at the front of motel-quiet, best view in motel, etc. I am used to high end accommodations and these definitely were not high end. But it was homey, clean, and perfectly acceptable.

Room Tip: Best view room-can actually see surf-from room at top of stais in front of the motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Our stay here would have been a lot nicer if we did not get the inside corner downstairs room. It was really dark and felt like a two closets that were converted to an extra room. Luckily, the weather was good so we spent most of our day running around the beach.

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs or at the end of the hall, not at the inside corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

the stay is good for the price and liked the breakfast and free wi fi. only complaint I have is that the last 4 days the cleaning crew does not come in to clean the room, bathroom, no clean sheets! the cleaning crew's behavior is very odd too. I put up the please clean the room sign and she still would not come in to clean. I even had to carry out the trash from the room.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Stayed at the Seaway Inn for five days. The location was great, close enough to the Boardwalk and beach, and far enough away from the crowds and noise. The staff were really cool, and made me feel welcome and relaxed. My room was perfect, I traveled alone and this was the perfect place for me. I was able to nap during the day, my favorite thing to do sometimes on vacation, with no interuptions. Room was clean and check out the showers, their one of a kind, like my whole stay at the Seaway Inn, I cant wait to return. Thanks to all the staff for making me feel at home, Merry X-Mas and Happy New Year.

Room Tip: upstairs with view of beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico now (lived in Jamaica and Trinidad)
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed in a room in the annex down the hill. My room was in the back (305), so it was quiet and very cozy. There were bunkbeds and a nice little kitchen too, which would have been great for a family visit. The location is perfect; near the beachs/wharf and close to the Pacific garden mall. I rented a bike from the hotel and rode all over the place. Because it was off-season, the price was really low, but I'd come back and stay here even when the prices go up in the summer. Loved it.

Room Tip: Annex is nice but the hotel on the hill also looks good. Don't think there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

The Seaway Inn is a cozy, nicely landscaped motel that has a super-friendly staff. You can rent bikes for a few dollars an hour, and it's close to both the lighthouse/surfer museum and also the pier/boardwalk.

You get breakfast in a clean and sunny room off the main office, and you can make your own waffles! How cool is THAT? You get a nice bargain at the Seaway - comfortable, cozy and simple.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaway Inn

Address: 176 West Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaway Inn is a charming Santa Cruz hotel perched on a hillside overlooking the gorgeous Monterey Bay. It has all the warmth and coziness of a classic beach hotel with a full array of modern amenities. It is just a short walk to family fun at the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, world-class surfing at Steamer Lane, fine dining at the Municipal Wharf, and unique shops and entertainment in bustling Downtown Santa Cruz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Seaway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaway Hotel Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.