We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family oriented, old style motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Street Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Street Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Beach Street Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   125 Beach Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Terrace Court Motel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pleasant Hill, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“family oriented, old style motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

My husband, 3 yr old son, and I recently stayed at the Terrace Court in Santa Cruz for 2 nights. It is located directly across the street from the wharf and beach. The motel itself is nothing spectacular, the room was clean but not updated, the shower was hot, and the bed comfortable. There is a choice of rooms with kitchenettes or fridges and microwaves which makes it nice for families with kids. You can bring your own food and cook it if you like. Also there are 2 charcoal grills available, however, both nights we were there they were being used so you might have to wait or cook early. We had a queen room by the pool with a small fridge and microwave. Since the location is prime it is hard to get a reservation on some weekends. If you do book a terrace room overlooking the beach take into consideration there is a bar across the street with music and karaoke most of the day which is kind of loud. The pool is heated and very clean. We did not have any problems with the front desk staff and we even checked in early. Parking...you are only alotted one space so if you have more than one car I'm not sure where you would have to park. All in all it is a good value for the location.

  • Liked — location, location, location
  • Disliked — not updated
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    114
    22
    10
    8
See reviews for
178
97
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2007

Our family has been going to Terrace Ct. for decades and enjoying the casual, family spirit of the place. Our latest trip was to be three days there with our daughter and baby granddaughter. On the first night, loud music started emanating from the room next to our daughter's and one down from ours. She was trying to get the baby to sleep but put up with the noise for an hour before asking us what we thought she should do. We called the office, and the office called the noisy room. The occupant's response was to come outside his door, sit down and begin to play his guitar and loudly sing. At that point, I stuck my head out the door and asked him to stop (not graciously, I admit), and he started berating me for calling the office. On it went, with my husband calling the office again and the office seeming unwilling to take definitive action. Finally, with much loud cussing and slamming of doors the man either went in or out, and all was quiet. The next morning he saw my husband, made repeated obscene gestures, my husband confronted him, and he responded in a belligerent way again. Again, the office was unwilling to take any action. We could not understand their tolerant attitude to this fellow. We checked out, sad that our favorite Santa Cruz place was allowing such a character to stay there (we heard he was "living" there) and to create such an uncomfortable, unfriendly, and even seedy, atmosphere.

  • Liked — The family atmosphere which has remained constant until this visit.
  • Disliked — The new element of a seedy character living on the premises.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleasanton
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2006

I recently stayed at the Terrace Court in a double room for one night, along with friends who had booked 2 of the family suites. We have been coming to this hotel with the kids for a "Mom's beach vacation" for several years, and although we skipped last year, have always had a great experience. This year was terrible!
My friends had booked their rooms earlier, and I emailed the Terrace Court after office hours to see if they had rooms available for the night we wanted. They emailed back the next day to say they had several of them, so I called to book one, and was told they were full. Apparently MANY people had just called to book every room. The girl that answered the phone was very rude and unhelpful, refused to put me on a waiting list , and told me to keep calling back to check if one became available. I did and this went on for several days until I happened to call when a young man answered and said that there were SEVERAL room available. A miracle must have occured...Anyway, I booked a king room with a rollaway because they did not have a double by the pool. When we arrived, yet another room had become available and were given a double...room 26....beware of room 26. I spent the next hour killing spiders, ants, and an unidentified bug in the bathroom. The bathroom window is boarded up, and there is something all over the shower floor that I couldn't clean up. I had to use the plumber's friend on the toilet to get it to work once. The air conditioner is installed over the entry door, but the wood that is holding it up is rotten and scary looking. I knew the condition of the hotel, because I have stayed there before, but that room is awful. The worst part of the stay by far was dealing with the manager....I asked for a late check-out, he said no, and that the room was booked for the next night. I said ok, we will get out of the room by 11:00, but we would like to leave our cars there until we all go to lunch and will be gone by 1:00. He said no, that the next people renting the room could come at any time and they would need to have that spot and we were no longer hotel guests after 11:00. Check in time is 3:00! The man is incredibly rude, argumentative, and the younger front staff seems scared of him. His attitude was that since he already had our money, we were being kicked out to make way for the next guests- who weren't supposed to be there for another 4 hours! None of us will ever stay there again...

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2006

We have been coming down to the Terrace Court Motel for many years. Our car club, Heads of Colfax, look forward to our yearly trip and the great times at the *Hot rods at the beach* car show. The motel has great views, nice friendly people run the motel, there is a BBQ and tables for those nightly cook outs, there is a pool with some of the rooms close by. It might be out-dated for some...and thats OK, there are plenty of us who love the look of this motel and will keep coming back year after year......

  • Stayed October 2002
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2006

The Terrace Court Motel in Santa Cruz is a shining example of how great accommodation needn't be flashy or expensive. Its location is excellent, right near Cowell beach and Santa Cruz Pier, and even the rooms above the shops on the main street aren't affected by too much noise - this part of Santa Cruz isn't a particularly loud place at night.
Although this is an older-style motel and the furniture and fittings aren't modern, the basics are spot-on - the rooms are clean, bright and well-maintained and the staff are friendly and helpful. It's as if the staff either own or have shares in the business - a rare quality. The motel gives the impression of being very well-managed.
The Terrace Court is bigger than you think, laid out over three levels, two overlooking the Pacific (these rooms have fantastic ocean views and shared terraces) and the third surrounding the pool near the car park. We stayed in both types - both had useful kitchens, and there are larger family units available.
Prices for rooms are reasonable for the location (about $120 to $150 a night), and off-peak deals for longer stays are amazing - three nights off-peak is about $300, and we paid only $385 for a week, off-peak in a poolside room. The local surf shops are geared up to hire boards and wetsuits and give surfing lessons, and Cowell Beach is a perfect place to learn. If you always thought you might enjoy surfing, then a stay at the Terrace Court and a few surfing lessons will be a memorable experience.
You'd be forgiven for thinking the management of the Terrace Court had written this review, but I can assure you it's not the case - we are extremely fussy hotel-goers and have written some scathing reviews elsewhere on this website. You should simply know that if you're not prepared to be ripped-off but still require a pleasant stay, the Terrace Court comes highly recommended. We enjoyed our first week so much we ended up going back shortly afterward for another four days.
By the way, we chose the Terrace Court after a recommendation from an unforgettable chap called Marmaduke at the local tourist office on Ocean Street. He gave us a few excellent steers on restaurants and activities, too. Thanks Marmaduke!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2006

We rented an oceanview King size room the last week in April. We encountered some problems. The rooms have incredibly thin walls and you can hear everything in the room next door. Also, the bathroom window won't shut completely, so you hear all kinds of noise from the parking lot above the rooms. Not a good place to stay if you want to sleep late. We had a problem with customer service as well. The hotel staff moved our personal belongings (clothes, underwear, MP3 players, etc.) without our permission and without notice. We came back to the hotel around 9 p.m. one day to discover that all of our items had been moved from a 6-drawer chest to a 3-drawer chest. Everything was thrown in together. There was no note left behind to explain why housekeeping had handled all of our personal belongings. We were not pleased. We were not able to get an explanation until the next day since no one answers the phones after the office closes. I don't recommend staying here unless staying on the beach is your top priority. We moved to a nicer hotel further from the beach for the same price.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2005

Just on an overnight stopover - didn't prebook but they weren't full. The young lass at reception was helpful and friendly, and we were given a room right down the front overlooking the beach and the pier. We were also given an allocated parking spot.

Nice that these rooms had a balcony with deck chairs and lounges, which is a nice place to hang out at sunset, and in the morning to catch the sun.

The room was nothing fancy but clean. The bathroom was very small and dated, and we had no need to use the kitchen facilities so I can't comment there.

We met some people who had been coming to this hotel for years on extended vacations, and they had nothing but great things to say about their stay at Terrace Court. We were certainly captured by the beauty of Santa Cruz, which could all be seen from our room and the balcony.

We were sorry to leave the next day, and hope very much to visit again!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Street Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Street Inn and Suites

Address: 125 Beach Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Terrace Court Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Street Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Beach Street Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Street Inn And Suites Hotel Santa Cruz
Terrace Court Hotel
Terrace Court Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Street Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.