We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Street Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Street Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Beach Street Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   125 Beach Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Terrace Court Motel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Groningen, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Booked this after reading its reviews op tripadvisor. Few weeks ago we checked it on google street view and that made us worry a bit, since it didnt look very nice. But when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. I guess the street view pictures were from the old motel. It was absolutely amazing. Staff was very helpful, recommended some nice restaurants (El Palomar on Pacific ave is great!). We stayed three nights in the room with the semi-private sundeck and two queen beds. The absolute highlight was the sundeck. It was very spacious and had two loungers and two chairs. Even though the property is located right at beach street it is not noisy at all. The only sounds at night are the waves and the sea lions... Amazing.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    113
    21
    10
    8
See reviews for
174
96
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The location of Beach Street can't be beat. Just across from the beach/boardwalk. We had a pool/patio room which was perfect as we have a 9 year old who loves water. Everything was very clean in the room and surrounding facilities. Many nice touches throughout. We will make this our "go to" place to stay in Santa Cruz. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We booked a 2 rooms cabana suite (room 505) on the top floor of the Hotel near the pool.
- We new that there was not going to be any view but our windows were facing the parking lot behind the hotel. So there was noise until late at night from people talking on the parking lot.
- there was no way for us to sit on the porch as our suite was in a corner. All the other smaller rooms and cheaper rooms could enjoy the shade and the seating of the porch but there was no space for us.
- the kitchen was supposed to be tooled for 6 persons and there was only 3 mugs, 4 plates and nothing to do the dishes.
After saying all that to the reception nothing could be made as the hotel was full but no apologies or any kind of regrets was made.
In conclusion:
To expensive, no service, no seating.
Do not chose the 2 bedrooms cabana suite.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terracecourt, Assistant Manager at Beach Street Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
We are sorry to hear that your stay was disappointing. It is our sincere hope that every guest gets what they're looking for in their Santa Cruz vacation. Our prices do tend to the higher side of local accommodations, but we strive to match that with value.
We do only have the one suite with 2 completely separate bedroom spaces. It lies, as it does, in a corner that provides for such a large space. Owing to its location, it is one of only a few rooms on the property with no outside seating. There are, however, several communal seating areas on the property available to our guests. The pool, steps from our 2-Bedroom Cabana, has a number of lounge chairs as well as tables with sunshades. Our patio/fire pit area also has ample seating, and sweeping views of the sea.
Your kitchen not being stocked with enough dishes is definitely an oversight on our part, and I will be following up with the staff to avoid the problem in the future. We do keep soap under the kitchen sinks, but resetting the kitchen is a task our housekeeping staff handles proudly as part of stay-over service.
Again, my apologies that your stay was not all that you hoped for. If you ever think to allow us another opportunity, please contact the hotel directly so that we can work together to be sure that the room you book is going to fit your needs perfectly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This little gem is right across the street from the Santa Cruz boardwalk. Just to the right of your view (if you have an ocean facing room) is the Santa Cruz pier, with it's several really good restaurants and some shops, all with the same merchandise as every other shop in this region which made us laugh! Straight ahead is the sand, water, and lots of volleyball nets. Every morning, it seemed pro volleyball players of all walks were practicing and playing. It was an amazing insight into the sport. To the right was the actual "Boardwalk", with its gaming, vendors, concerts and the BEST people watching ever. As my daughter and I laid out on our room front shared balcony, the Santa Cruz train cruised in front of us, with other tourist taking photos of us and wishing they were on our balcony. Although the balcony was shared, and to get our luggage to the room required some brute strength, my kids want to go back. The pool is nice, but it was closed the 2 days we were there, so I suppose I should say that was a negative. There is no room service, but our room had a kitchenette with a refrigerator, oven, microwave and dishwasher. Yes, you have to clean up after yourself, but the venue makes for a great, relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: You want off the street yet with an ocean view. They do have pool rooms, that are large and close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This place is nice the room's are very clean and nice size. The shower was very nice I'm 6'8 and I can move around in there. The staff is great. They have a fire pit at night. The beach is just feet away from your room. I will be back

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This place is a refurbished single story motel right across from the beach/wharf. Everything is very quaint and clean. Nice beds, interiors, floors, pool, exterior, desk staff, baths, TVs... you name it. The location can't be beat! I only wish that more old-school motels in this area would update themselves like this place!

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are nice, but the poolside rooms are cheaper and much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is a very relaxing place to stay with kids. The pool was just outside our door so we could come and go easily. The pier is directly across the street and the boardwalk was just few blocks away and easy to walk to. This is the nicest, most affordable place to stay on Beach Street.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Street Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Street Inn and Suites

Address: 125 Beach Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Terrace Court Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Street Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Beach Street Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Street Inn And Suites Hotel Santa Cruz
Terrace Court Hotel
Terrace Court Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Street Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.