We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Street Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Beach Street Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beach Street Inn and Suites
125 Beach Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Terrace Court Motel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% off your 2nd night
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Only problem with this hotel is that we could only stay one night! The location is great overlooking the beach and pier. Rooms are modern, large and well appointed. Very comfy beds. Friendly and helpful reception staff. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    102
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
156
78
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is a small inn right on the beach looking at the pier in Santa Cruz. It is an older building BUT the rooms have been redone and they are very nice. They are bright and fresh. New bathrooms, small kitchen, new linens and decor. Comfy adirondack chairs to sit in and look at the ocean. I would go again in a heart beat!

Room Tip: The 200 level rooms are above the street and offer good views and are a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel right on the beach. You cannot miss with this hotel. We took a pool view room and had a great view of the Santa Cruz Pier and ocean right over the pool! You could spend another $100 per night for a direct ocean view but those rooms have a shared patio. Now if you don't mind some unruly, un-mannered kids running and screaming up and down your patio go for it. But the pool rooms are quieter! They have a large suite over the office, but you better rent it early, it goes quickly. Great staff, they gave us a whole list of things to do in Santa Cruz besides the beach and boardwalk. They even have bikes to rent. There were only 4 bikes so if you want them you better take them early. We will definitely stay here again!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was an ideally located motel in Santa Cruz. It spills down the cliff to the beach front road across from the Santa Cruz wharf. The rooms on the second and third terraces have lovely, unimpeded views over the bay and wharf. The rooms are equipped with two queen bed, TV, wi-fi, microwave, and a bathroom with a huge shower. Very helpful and friendly staff.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd terrace have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceres, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This Inn is an awesome place to stay. I have stayed here several times in the last 3 years. The rooms are clean and completely remodeled. The decor is adorable and everything is top notch. The beds are so comfortable and the showers are custom. The location is the best. It is right across the street from the beach, the wharf & the Boardwalk. You never have to get in your car to go anywhere. The swimming pool is really nice and so is the fire pit. They have thought of everything. It is a great place for a couple, a family, or a girls weekend. The staff is also very nice and accommodating. I highly recommend this Inn and know that you won't be sorry when you stay here.

Room Tip: The terrace rooms have a great ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights on our honeymoon in late September. Also had 106 as the reviewer below (maybe it was my hair, sorry!) And while I agree that housekeeping wasn't great (beds made and towels replenished but nothing actually cleaned), I can't agree with any of the other problems.

The hotel/motel is well decorated and moden. The bathrooms had just enough space for 2 but the room lacked any decent clothes storage if you were there for more than a night or 2.

However, none of this actually mattered as the staff were great and the location was perfect. 5 mins walk to boardwalk, 5 mins to the wharf and 10 mins to Downtown. We ate in the Picnic Basket downstairs nearly every morning and the food is SO good. The comments about the noise is probably due to the fact that you are literally right on the beach. We liked that we were right in the thick of it and even slept with the balcony door open to listen to the sealions at night. But we never felt that noise was an issue in preventing us from sleeping or enjoying the hotel. We'd definitely stay again.

My only constructive comment would be to offer some King bed rooms. It appears that they were all 2 Queens and as it was our honeymoon it would've been a nice touch but can understand why 2 Queens makes better business sense.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

stayed 2 nights and loved being able to walk to boardwalk downtown area and other areas. The room itself was okay but I thought a little pricey for it. I guess I was paying for the location. The pool area is nice and the staff was very pleasant. We didn't have an oceanview room as the cost was to prohibited but we could walk out our door and look over to the ocean which was nice. If you need a clean place to stay this is it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Street Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Street Inn and Suites

Address: 125 Beach Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Terrace Court Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Beach Street Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Street Inn And Suites Hotel Santa Cruz
Terrace Court Hotel
Terrace Court Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Street Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.