We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Street Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Street Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Beach Street Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   125 Beach Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Terrace Court Motel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We got a last minute booking here, and it turned out to be one of the treats of our holiday. Service was both friendly and efficient, the suite was immaculate, facilities very good, and it all ran very well indeed. I was worried that it might be noisy, but that was unfounded, I slept very well indeed. It's not cheap in peak season, but I'd definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    109
    20
    9
    7
See reviews for
164
91
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Very pleased with this choice. Though somewhat pricey, it was on a par with other properties here at this time of year. The rooms were charmingly and thoughtfully decked out in chic beach house mode: fresh colors, eclectic design pieces, all felt fresh and new. Exceptionally well designed bathroom in our double, with large walk-in shower and roomy drawer under vanity to easily stow all those toiletries. No full length hanging storage, but again, 3 roomy drawers in room. Shutters worked well in place of curtains. Room with pool view was on terrace above those with ocean view; very pleasant little plaza, and no noise from street. Service was very accommodating and pleasant. Only downsides: room was rather cozy for 2 adults and 2 teens, though serviceable. Beds and doors a bit squeaky in our room. Floors not dirty, but being near beach and being wood get sandy and a bit sticky--the price of being at the beach. Location very good for wharf activities, and right on trolley line for short trip into heart of downtown. Overall, a very good stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had a great time staying here. With two kids it was wonderful being just across the street from the beach and the boardwalk. Close to downtown also. The room was very nicely appointed, and the staff was really helpful and friendly. They have a campfire every night (tho I didn't go to it) and a nice pool. As much as I loved it, I probably would not stay there again because it was a bit pricey. If you can, tho splurge and stay in a really nice place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terracecourt, Manager at Beach Street Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your time in Santa Cruz. Summer is definitely the most expensive season here in Santa Cruz so if you are ever interested in returning another time of year we would love to have you as our guest again at a time when it might be more affordable for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was one of our favourite hotels on our California road trip. We had booked a poolside room but got an ocean view room so we just had top cross the street and we were on the beach. And the pier is just across the street as well. The room was big, clean and modern, absolutely loved the bathroom and the "living at the beach" type of decoration. Breakfast is not included but there is a cafe just below the hotel so you don't have to go too far. Too bad we only had one night scheduled in Santa Cruz, we could definitely have stayed for longer!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This place is absolutely wonderful. I booked through Booking.com for pool side view and ended up getting an upgrade to ocean view due to last pool room booked just before my submission. Our room was just breath taking. You can not go wrong with any rooms there. The location is just so perfect. Across the street from the board walk, warf and a delicious cafe just across our hotel. Rooms are so spacious, beds comfortable and spacious bathroom( large shower with two water heads). Rooms are nicely updated and I loved their wooded floors. At night, we sat on the beach chairs that are on the patio in front of every room, overlooking the ocean. Absolutely FABULOUS! The young ladies at the check-in office are so friendly and courteous. Thank you Matti.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Cute motel, totally modern and renovated rooms. We had an oceanfront suite overlooking street and beach across the street. Suite had pull down murphy beds, sofa bed and king in bedroom. Nicely decorated. However, no place to hang wet suits, weird for beach hotel. We did feel a bit exposed being close to the street. Plus Internet kept fading out. Think I would try poolside next time. Pool is heated with nice chairs and ample towels. Wish there was a hot tub! because Santa Cruz is quite cold. The motel is on a hill and has different levels. To get to the street you walk down stairs and out a locked gate. There was an awesone cafe just below our room on the street level. It is called The Picnic Basket. Great coffee to enjoy streetside while you people watch. Beach Street in has a prime location. Wharf and Boardwalk easy 5 minute walk. Beach directly across street. However, there did seem to be many homeless people around. This is a great little motel. Only reason I did not rate higher was price. Almost $600.00 per night for suite.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calistoga, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was nice place to stay in Santa Cruz, not a luxury hotel by any means but certainly comparable or better than other options close to the boardwalk. Newly renovated with nice faux wood flooring. It had a nice size bathroom with a terrific shower! The hotel was quiet at night which allowed for a good nights sleep. The hotel staff were nice and helpful when we had questions.

The beds were not that comfortable and the pillows were hard and uncomfortable. The sheets were stiff and a little on the scratchy side. It was not the most comfortable but it served its purpose. The floors were pretty dirty, which lead me to believe that it wasn't the cleanest hotel. Mopping the floors should be pretty easy and quick.

Just a note on Santa Cruz.... The area close to the boardwalk is pretty rundown and unkept. We did not eat near the hotel we drove downtown. However, my daughter enjoyed the boardwalk and the beach!! She had a lot of fun. She did not notice the surrounding area or the stiff sheets :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Street Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Street Inn and Suites

Address: 125 Beach Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Terrace Court Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Street Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Beach Street Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Street Inn And Suites Hotel Santa Cruz
Terrace Court Hotel
Terrace Court Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Street Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.