We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Street Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Street Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Beach Street Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   125 Beach Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Terrace Court Motel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Beverly Hills, California
2 reviews
“Can't beat the location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

1st time staying at this hotel, but the location is just perfect. You're conveniently located right between the pier with all the shops and eateries vs. the boardwalk with all of the amusement/theme park fun. Stayed on the 1st floor which was situated just above a string of surf clothing shops and a place to eat. Everything is in walking distance with restaurants, a liquour store, and an view of the beach from the shared balcony. The rooms are very clean, beds are great, powerful a/c (not really needed if you crack the window open), and the room also had a kitchen with a nice size refrige. The staff were all very friendly and happy to help. Parking can be a bit of a tight squeeze and is not assigned. They will let you park in the handicapped space if nobody needs it who checked in (lot is private so not subject to ticketing). All in all, would definitely come back.

Room Tip: 2nd floor will have private (rather than shared) balcony, but the rooms are further and higher back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    126
    23
    11
    8
See reviews for
201
104
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our first stay at the Beach Street Inn after coming to Santa Cruz for 20+ years. The hotel is very clean and the amenities for a beach hotel are outstanding.

The hotel is made up of 4 different levels. 1st level just above the shops on the street, the 2nd level rooms can't see the street, but do have a view of the beach and wharf, the 3rd level is made up of ocean view rooms with semi private patios and then the 4th level is at the very top surrounding the pool. We stayed on the 2nd level in an ocean view room, but I would imagine all of the rooms have positive features to them.

The street access from the front of the hotel to the beach is very convenient. There are several restaurants, a liquor store, pizza parlor, ice cream, and the wharf shops/food all within walking distance. Across the street is the Santa Cruz trolley stop where you can catch a ride to downtown for $.25 each way. (Exact change of a quarter is needed.) The trolley arrives/departs every 30 minutes. Very convenient way to visit the unique downtown area and not have to drive or search for a parking space.

The hotel itself is very nice and the typical traveler will be more than pleased. The only small negatives are the parking (which fills up quickly in the summer) and the squeaky beds in our room. The beds were comfortable, but extremely squeaky if you adjusted yourself or moved around on the bed. It was tough not to wake up others when turning over during the night.

The hotel also has bikes for rent, a BBQ area, and a fire pit for use. The pool area is clean and comfortable and beach towels are provided at the pool area. While the price is not cheap to stay at this hotel, the perks and pleasant ambiance of the hotel make you feel you get a little extra something for those added dollars. If you can afford it, definitely check it out.

Overall I would certainly suggest this hotel. I'm sure we will be staying here again next summer when we visit Santa Cruz again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Beach Street Inn for two nights on our whirlwind tour of the west. It was fabulous. Can't beat the view, the rooms are clean with everything you need - microwave, coffee maker and refrigerator. We thoroughly enjoyed taking in the views while sitting in the Adirondac chairs with our cups of coffee. Everyone at the Inn was friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

All rooms are updated and the bathroom is the most amazing hotel bathroom i have ever seen. Glass doors with rock pebble floor. Amazing! Beds were great! When we got to the hotel we were upgraded to ocean front! Great service and frienly employees. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Very conveniently located as well! Gorgeous!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This place is outstanding. The rooms have been completely renovated and have all amenities. The property is right on the beach and is within walking distance of good restaurants and bars. My understanding is this place is locally owned aand the staff made everyone (in a group of business people) feel much at home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We canceled another hotel to stay here and we were not disappointed! In fact we liked the hotel so much we added a third night. The rooms are adorable, the location is great! Hotel is located across from the beach and the boardwalk. Had a great time and we will come back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terracecourt, Manager at Beach Street Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at the Beach Street Inn! We are so happy to hear that we met all of your expectations and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Amazing stay!! There were five of us all together....three adults and two children. We stayed in the Oceanview with kitchen suite. Everyone absolutely loved it! Spacious and the appliances were very modern and up to date. Gas stove which made cooking fast and easy. It is a little pricey, however we stayed for two days, five people, and we did not have to eat out once because we brought our food(fridge was small in our suite, but we were able to fit all our food). So, the price balances it self out and the staff is super friendly:)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Paradox
Hotel Paradox
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea and Sand Inn
Sea and Sand Inn
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.2 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Street Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Street Inn and Suites

Address: 125 Beach Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Terrace Court Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Street Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Beach Street Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Street Inn And Suites Hotel Santa Cruz
Terrace Court Hotel
Terrace Court Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Street Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.