We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL, FABULOUS, LOVE IT!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Street Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Street Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Beach Street Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   125 Beach Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Terrace Court Motel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Fort Bragg, California
1 review
“WONDERFUL, FABULOUS, LOVE IT!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was our 3rd trip in the year 2012, could not think of anywhere I would like to go as often as
is possible. We being friends and family just have the best time!! Why not ,the rooms are just wonderful. Plus the decor is just the best for the area!
Also one of my critiique's is always noise!!! Which there is none, plus very comfortable bed!
To say nothing about the location, just great.........

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    108
    20
    9
    7
See reviews for
164
90
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west marin, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Late in October is a fine time to visit Santa Cruz and get one's choice of rooms with a view, restaurant seatings with a view, less crowded walks, and merchants on the wharf anxious for a sale. The weather was warm, sunny, and colorful. The room is so modern, clean, and convenient and the bathroom is the finest I have seen in a motel. The sound of the waves is so relaxing and the common deck is comfortable and even private, in a way. We really loved our stay there.

Room Tip: 201 was ours...at the end of the common deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed here during a retreat...it was a little pricey but oceanview rooms generally are. The hotel is older and has a lot of stairs but it is well maintained and the shower is to die for. Double size with a rain forest shower head on one end and an adjustable euro-style hand held shower head on the other end. The hotel is at the "right" end of the street and the two andirondack chairs right outside my door were quaint and perfectly positioned for watching beach volleyball. A little further down the street is the arcade and rides and it's a little busier and not as nice. Santa Cruz itself is a little dicey in my opinion for a woman alone at night.

Room Tip: I enjoyed my oceanview room but don't know if it was worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Visiting Santa Cruz from our home in Honolulu, Hawaii we know a good beach stay when we experience one. Beach Street Inn and Suites was a shot in the dark for us to stay in based on it's great reviews here on tripadvisor. This hotel more than exceeded our expectations :) Kathy at the front desk was incredibly helpful with choosing a room, dinner recommendations, and just about any question we had. We first stayed on the upper deck side of the property, and we felt so spoiled. Extremely clean, modern,and very comfortable, plus a view right out of a postcard. We had a one bedroom suite, with full kitchen, and plenty of room to stretch out, for the 3 of us. The bathroom was very spacious, with a modern double -shower. Even with our room situated by the maintenance area - our room was soundproof ! Parking was readily available every time we returned from our day's adventure. WE LOVED THIS HOTEL. We will definitely stay here again, on our next surf trip out here..!

Room Tip: choose a room on the upper level ( parking lot level) for that great deck view, in the 300 building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had a double queen room which provided enough space for both of us. I liked that we could open the window & still have privacy by using the shutters. It was close to the pier & eating places for breakfast. Free wifi was abysmal. Staff helped out with all our questions. We had a pool room. Ocean view rooms cost a little more & some were down lots of steps.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view room make sure you aks about steps to the room from the car park. Pool vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

For $179, I would of anticipated a little more. Our room was dated, which we were told. However the iPod docking didn't work. The bathroom window opened right up to a neighbor, and no no fan so unless I wanted the maintenance dude or whomever to see me in all my glory, I was suffocated in the bathroom. The bed was mediocre. The pool was lacking much of any heat. Front desk staff were nice, but tis place wasn't worth it for us unfortunately.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terracecourt, Manager at Beach Street Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
We are very sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not live up to your expectations. That certainly is not the experience that we want any of our guests to have. It does sound like you were in one of the 4 unremodeled rooms on the property. We do definitely make all guests booking those rooms aware of the fact that they are older rooms and don't sell them online for that reason as well. Nonetheless I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed and hope that you will consider returning to stay in one of our remodeled rooms which I think would be much more to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here one night and it was lovely.
The rooms were absolutely gorgeous and the views of the beach were awesome!
You can walk along the boardwalk and pier but have to drive into downtown.
Would stay again and would definitely Reccommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Street Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Street Inn and Suites

Address: 125 Beach Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Terrace Court Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Street Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Beach Street Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Street Inn And Suites Hotel Santa Cruz
Terrace Court Hotel
Terrace Court Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Street Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.