We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food just a little overpriced.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Takara Japanese Restaurant

Takara Japanese Restaurant
3775 Capitola Rd, Santa Cruz, CA 95062
(831) 464-1818
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #143 of 331 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food just a little overpriced.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were staying in Santa Cruz and he found this awesome place in the visitor's guide in our room. We decided to try it and it was fabulous! The server was great and her recommendations were perfect! We'll definitely return!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always Consistent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have been coming to Takara for years and always (minus maybe 2 times) have good service and great food. I seem to order the same rolls; but they are always delicious and consistently good. Sometimes they have specials. Fridays have live music, so it can get pretty loud. They've also remodeled the bar area for more room.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great sushi,great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Never been disappointed. Try the special that has a light in it or the catapillar roll. They also have a nice selection of veggie rolls. For those who don't do fish, they also have meat entrees.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“always wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We've been going to Takara for years and it never fails to deliver great service and great food. Go hungry because their meals are big.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I have been here many times for many different occasions. The food is always good just over priced. Sometimes the service is not so special

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Takara Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Takara Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Takara Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.