We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca Bistro

Casablanca Bistro
101 Main St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
8314269063
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #119 of 329 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Price range: $17 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
El Cerrito, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a wedding rehearsal luncheon for 60 here, upstairs in a very nice room with panoramic vistas. It was one of those beautiful Santa Cruz days which made the good food taste even better. Afterwards we all prowled the Boardwalk and had great fun.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Exceptional food and view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were walking around Santa Cruz shortly after our late evening arrival and came upon the Casablanca. We were actually walking along the shore and saw the restaurant from across the street. Went upstairs and had a window-side table. Incredible view of the boardwalk and pier. The food was delicious, the service was superb. We sat near another couple who were from Europe who also could not believe the food and the excellent wine list. We started with the olive assortment and the roasted brussels sprouts. Who would believe brussels sprouts could taste so good! Our meals were excellent and we even saved room for one of their signature desserts. Definitately a place to return to as soon as the opportunity presents itself. Santa Cruz is a lovely city and is fortunate to have a restaurant that offers a bar/pub-style environemnt with the same excellent food downstairs and an elegant restaurant upstairs. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyoone who enjoys a more diversified menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Subtle and unexpected flavors, nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I were walking around looking for a place to have a light dinner when we walked by the Casablanca. We went in and ended up having absolutely delicious food in a nice setting. It was after dark, and we enjoyed the lights of the nearby wharf sparkling on the ocean. As fog came in, the view changed but was still fun. Every table in the place has a good view, as they are on 3 levels.

I asked if the clam chowder was gluten-free and our server, Patrick, assured me he would make sure it was. It had extraordinary flavor. While we waited, my husband enjoyed the delicious little bread pieces with a dipping sauce. I tried the sauce and it had a subtle blend of flavors.

For dessert, I had a creme caramel (which I think of as flan from living in Mexico) and it was extraordinary. The caramelized sauce had been allowed to go tangy enough to provide a fine contrast to the sweet custard, and there were 2 pieces of citrus fruit atop it.

If I lived here, I would stop in often!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excellent outdoor seating areaDog friendly too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Every aspect was great. Excellent ocean views, server beyond pleasant and welcoming to our golden retriever. Food quality very good, but fairly limited menu.
Will be back again tonight!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Delaware
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great view, Great food, Great people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We followed the smell of freshly cooked burgers and it led us here. Due to the hour the restaurant area was closed so we had to order of the "bar" menu which had I not been told would have never known as there was plenty of selections.
The burger was cooked perfectly, and was a meal in itself. The fries were "hand cut" and good, similar to beach fries on the east coast. Now the brussel sprouts were outstanding- they were not your ordinary brussels a "must try" you will not be disappointed.The clam soup with "real" clams in the shell was great as well.
They also have a nice beer and wine selection.
Service could not get any better. They even called a cab for us to get back in to town as the trolly had stopped running.
A great place for conversation, a relaxing meal, a quiet drink. but be early as it appears by 9pm the town shuts down.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casablanca Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Casablanca Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.