We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, great pool area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Paradox

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Paradox to your Saves list
Hotel Paradox
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   611 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
San Francisco
1 review
“Very nice, great pool area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very nice hotel in a good location if you don't mind driving very short distances to downtown or the beach. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Bathroom was very nicely done. The best part however, was the pool area. The pool was large enough for the kids to have fun and not disturb others in the pool. Nice lounge chairs and outside area. The hot tub was large and the firepit was so nice to sit by at night. Bar service at the pool was great as well. We have definitely found our new hotel to stay at when spending the night in Santa Cruz! The staff was wonderful from check-in to poolside to drinks at night. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed on the pool side near the back which the front desk clerk recommended. It was quiet and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    82
    34
    11
    1
See reviews for
58
89
11
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

For a business trip this hotel was nice. The beds are confortable and the internet works well. The natural feel of the rooms is nice, they are small but well equiped. I do feel the price is excessive, but if you want a nice clean room in a decent area, this hotel will do.
Do be careful of the park behind the hotel, it has had some recent crime.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea M, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear AnilemA,

Thank you for your recent stay with the Hotel Paradox! We appreciate the feedback and are glad to hear you liked the room. For our best values, always book on our direct website at www.thehotelparadox.com. We also rate match if you find a rate lower somewhere else, call us and we will verify it and will happily match it for you! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Many Thanks!
Andrea Murray, General Manager
831.600.4501
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Nice and clean, did exactly what we wanted.
Slightly overpriced but rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Quite modern looking inside. Plenty of parking spaces.

The kids enjoyed the pool and hot tub

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Nice contemporary design. Friendly welcome by staff upon arrival. Easy parking close to the rooms which are clean with great furniture and decoration. Bed and sheets are superb. One of the best sheets I've ever slept in. Both pool and hottub are excellent with enough poolchairs to relax. Breakfast is excellent but is not included in the room price. For what you pay per night a basic continental breakfast should be included.

However, besides all the fancy and style there are some things that can be improved. Our room was next to the elevator which made noise everytime it was used. Room very small with almost no place to put suitcases. Happy hour was only on very small selection of drinks, not on the cocktails. Food way overprized. Offered quality not good enough for the high price they charge.

If you make a stopover in Santa Cruz this hotel is a welcome break from hours of driving and a good place to relax.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We checked in here and got good service, 2 drinks on our bill to have cause on honeymoon, that was kind.. Our room key then wouldn't work, so after returning to the desk and listening to phone reservations (shouldn't someone be in a back office to do that, to leave reception be for the actual guests?!) the girl put 2 extra free drinks on our room bill. That was a nice touch, she didn't need to, we were pleased with that. We then went to the pool, being on honeymoon, it wasn't as chilled as it could have been because of the noisy and annoying kids everywhere, even in the hot tub.. But hey, it not an adults only place.
Happy hour was 3 hrs, good value and friendly wait staff. Dinner also cool, well thought out menu and clean, modern feel to the dining room! Great waiter service too.
Bar is impressive and you can see the pride the staff have in their jobs , well done. Lastly the rooms were sleek, modern and clean, with air con, comfy beds, and a good night sleep there.
Would recommend, however it is pricy, look out for an advance purchase deal or something.. We were last minute so we took the cost.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea M, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Loveluxury2013,

Wanted to say thank you for the recent stay and review of Hotel Paradox. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the Hotel amenities and offerings. We are glad you enjoyed the Pool deck service and Solaire restaurant and bar. We do feature a happy hour certain days and times. We often change up the selections as well. We thank you very much for joining us for your honeymoon and I'd be happy to see you on your anniversary as well!

Many thanks!
Andrea Murray, General Manager
Hotel Paradox
831.600.4501
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

It was nice and clean, exercise room was good, everything worked fine (except the temp control as the a/c could not keep up), staff was friendly & the lobby even made a good attempt to be trendy. The 3 star rating really reflects the cost -- it would have been a great hotel at half the cost and a reasonable stay at 3/4 the cost. In case you're not sensing the theme -- it is overpriced for what you get.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Checked in for two nights with hubby and 7year old son, on arrival, staff were very helpful and friendly, they let us check in early and so we were able to hit the beach straight away. Rooms are modern and very clean, absolutely no complaints whatsoever.
The beach is about a 20min walk, or you can get the free trolley which is a 10min walk away, either way its a pleasant walk and even at 10pm walking back from the boardwalk everything thing felt safe.
Would definitely stay again....

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have seating outside so very nice in the evening..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea M, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Sara D,

We appreciate you staying at the Hotel Paradox in Santa Cruz. Thank you for such a lovely review, we thank you for your kind comments in relation to your stay with us. We hope you enjoyed the beach, it's been a very pretty beach-y summer! We look forward to seeing you again.

Many Thanks!!
Andrea Murray, General Manager
Hotel Paradox
831.600.4501
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Paradox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradox

Address: 611 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Paradox 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paradox is the newest boutique Hotel in Santa Cruz. The hotel has been fully rebuilt by designer David Oldroyd of Orlando Diaz-Azcuy Design Associates of San Francisco. The design elements replicate the feeling of being in a Redwood forest to bring the outdoors indoors. Enjoy the feeling of the forest in our specially designed guest rooms and suites. Visit the Hotel Paradox Pool Deck complete with private, rentable Cabanas, chaise loungers, tables for poolside dining and outdoor/indoor bar area. Hungry for more? Dine with us in Solaire, a fresh farm-to-table organic produced and sourced dining experience headed up by Chef Ross McKee. Solaire serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with a wine and beer bar area. All guest rooms feature the outdoor elements to enhance the feeling of the outdoors, yet offer all the amenities you seek to ensure a completely fresh, sunny Santa Cruz experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Paradox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Paradox, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.