We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If design and style are important to you, this is the place to stay in Santa Cruz.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Paradox

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Paradox to your Saves list
Hotel Paradox
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   611 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Woodside, California, USA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“If design and style are important to you, this is the place to stay in Santa Cruz.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

If design and style are important to you, this is the place to stay in Santa Cruz. This hotel must have had the most complete remodel of any hotel I have ever been in. It is on Ocean St., which is a main drag with endless older older hotels and motels, and there are much better and more scenic locations to be in the area. But once you enter the front doors of the lobby , you are in a different world. Every detail is over the top hip and cool, Santa Cruz style. For example, it would be hard to miss as the reservations desk is one solid and huge piece of driftwood. This is a great introduction as to what is in store in the public spaces and the rooms.

Our room was modest in size, as I think most of the rooms are, but the level of detail in the design aesthetic was remarkable. There is an eclectic blend of ultra modern and rustic elements that work well in harmony. Make no mistake, clean lines and minimalism is a driving force here, and it works beautifully. Every element in the room was clearly thoroughly thought out. The headboard is reclaimed wood. The sconces are modern but have beautiful hemp rope that wraps around the wire. The small side table is actually a gorgeous wood stump. The flat screen TV is recessed and flush with the wall. A small and costly detail that makes a huge design difference.

Though the bathroom is modest in size, it is elegant and inviting. The shower is made for two people, the floor made of river rock. Terry bathrobes, hip amenities, an illuminated mirror, etc.. The modern minimal chic is everywhere!

The public spaces are just as inviting as the rooms, with a stunning pool area, great lounge chairs etc. You'll want to hang out in the lobby, just because of its aesthetic.

The hotel is made to attract a younger crowd, but I see this as pretty family friendly as well. I went at a quiet time, so I have no idea what the place is like when it is full in summertime. The remodel is very very new, and i hope it ages well.

Two Thumbs up.
Joe Bob says "Check it out. "

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    82
    34
    11
    1
See reviews for
58
89
11
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a really pleasant weekend stay at the hotel. The hotel had a good vibe and the staff were uniformly pleasant and really went out of the way to be helpful. We spent most of time in Santa Cruz and environs so we didn't use the restaurant and pool, but we loved the room, bed (mattress, big pillow, linens), bathroom (shower, robes. When we compare it ot some of the oher hotels wev'e stayed at in Santa Cruz there was simply no comparison. We'll defintely sytay there next time we visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I had a pleasant stay at the Paradox! I took my husband down there to celebrate his birthday over the weekend and let me say, my husband was marveled by the design of our room! It was different then our usual Hilton/Marriott stays, all in a good way! The staff was friendly and very helpful as well. We look forward to visiting Santa Cruz in the near future and enjoying another stay at the Paradox. Thank you and great job with the remodeling!

Room Tip: Since the Paradox is newly remodeled, there was not an ice machine available during my stay. I did h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony E, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Birthday Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the quality of your room experience and your fine customer service received from our staff, I will be sure to share with all associates.
Regarding the ice machines, the ice machines are located on the second and fourth floors, sorry that we didn't make you aware of the locations.
Look forward to having you back with us again, please call me directly for VIP treatment.
Warm regards,
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

So this hotel fits its name to a tee. I find myself asking why it was there and who it is meant to serve. It looks like an old motel that has been gutted and remodeled. The rooms are spacious and modern and well decorated. I loved the rain shower with large stone floors. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Location is ok...about five minute drive to downtown Santa Cruz. There were closer hotels, but they were more run down, so glad we stayed here.

My only complaint is that they charged $5 for parking. I thought this was unnecessary, especially with countless available spots.

For dinner, head to Lailli in town. Good service, good food, reasonably priced with a great ambience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is gorgeous. Very new and up to date. Pool is amazing. Rooms were kept very clean and modern. The only real downside is that they are new and seem inexperienced. There was no iron in the room. The front desk stuck us in the back of the third floor with the elevators broken and a more than half empty hotel. They did however remedy the situation. Staff was extremely friendly. I would stay there again. They just seemed like they had too many people new to the hotel game trying to run it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Beautiful boutique hotel. I was greeted by friendly hotel staff, who immediately took my luggage from my car. The lobby clerk had a friendly smile and quick to check me in. The lobby counter is made from a hugh eucalyptus tree. Very impressive and unique. Everything about the hotel was amazing. The property itself is nicely laid out. The restaurant is beautiful and the food delicious.
Thepatio had a large swhimming pool, large jacuzzi, cabanas all around an out bar and patio dining. My lunch, gruper fish on a bed of arugula with an olive oil dressing with capers was wonderful. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the bedding soft and comfortable. So are the robes. Everyone was very happy with the hotel and staff. We will be back!

Room Tip: Higher floors overlooking the pool and patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony E, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Bay Area Traveler,
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding the outstanding service and wonderful facilites. You have encapsulated all the beautiful experiences of what we are trying to deliver to our guests.
We look forward to having you back soon, please call me directly for VIP arrangements.
Warm regards,
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Paradox Santa Cruz a couple of weeks ago. The hotel is clean and very modern. The pool side is warm and inviting and the restaurant is quite lovely. The food was delicious. Our room was a small regular queen room. It was very comfortable, however, the bath room was very small, with room for just one person. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Paradox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradox

Address: 611 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Paradox 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paradox is the newest boutique Hotel in Santa Cruz. The hotel has been fully rebuilt by designer David Oldroyd of Orlando Diaz-Azcuy Design Associates of San Francisco. The design elements replicate the feeling of being in a Redwood forest to bring the outdoors indoors. Enjoy the feeling of the forest in our specially designed guest rooms and suites. Visit the Hotel Paradox Pool Deck complete with private, rentable Cabanas, chaise loungers, tables for poolside dining and outdoor/indoor bar area. Hungry for more? Dine with us in Solaire, a fresh farm-to-table organic produced and sourced dining experience headed up by Chef Ross McKee. Solaire serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with a wine and beer bar area. All guest rooms feature the outdoor elements to enhance the feeling of the outdoors, yet offer all the amenities you seek to ensure a completely fresh, sunny Santa Cruz experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Paradox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Paradox, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.