We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Inn

Save Saved
You added Continental Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Continental Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   414 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 52 hotels in Santa Cruz
Sacramento, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful inside and out! The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was one i would be very happy with in my own home and they have hardwood floors so no smells from previous dogs that stayed here! I would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    39
    18
    11
    19
See reviews for
26
33
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

If you really desperately need to stay in Santa Cruz, Ca Please do more homework than what we did, actually we over-looked the reviews...SHAME ON US!!! The room is what it is; just a small room with an A/C barely working it gave out in the morning. Kind of scary the area is. We were told we had to go across the street to the main building for breakfast and to return our keys. As we were leaving in the morning we noticed a homeless man in one of the car ports...really!!! Thank God there were other people around, NEVER AGAIN!!!!

Room Tip: I hear from other's around the area The Paradox is newly renovated and better than Continental.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

i always comes back to this hotel, they do bump up the price tho in high season. so i try to go when its not haha. its walking distance to the boardwalk. Chinese restaurant across the street. the rooms are pretty small. i love the wood floor, nice decoration. bathroom is clean. bed is kinda hard for me. the breakfast is delicious ! free parking, free wi fi ! and their staff are nice. will be back for a day get away :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Spent a night here while I was staying in town for a gig. Very courteous employees. I have certain dietary restrictions and they were kind enough to ensure I would have plenty of food to eat at their breakfast. Great room, very open and quiet. Will be recommending to others passing through.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here the other day and once we checked in everything seemed fine. Room was ok until I walked into the bathroom. Their was a big clump of hair in the shower! I told the front desk and she said the manager was not in. So the next day was check out once again I asked I what was going to be done. She said the manger was still not in but she left a note and would refund my card. 3 days later still nothing. So I had to call my card and dispute it. That was a horrible place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was in the area for four days visiting a friend, and we actually enjoyed the room very much. The room had a very 'beach house' vibe, with the wood floors and decor. It was a quick 10 minute walk from the Boardwalk, with numerous other local places within walking distance. We didn't really investigate the pool, and the hot tub is literally located in the middle of the parking lot which we just found kind of odd and silly (especially the night that constant 'baby making music' was emanating from the hot tub enclosure)

We really enjoyed our time here though, and if I need to grab a room in Santa Cruz again, I'll know to shoot for the Continental Inn. My friend DID complain about the mattress comfort, though I had no problem and she is self admittedly picky about mattresses.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is Santa Cruz in the summer. I'm here for 2 nights while visiting family and in July SC is packed and expensive. This place is ok, for what it is. The bed is comfortable, the staff is nice, the parking is a pain, but the room is clean. Not looking for luxury and won't find it very much in SC--if you look at houses for rent you may get a better value--but this is close to downtown, walking distance to the beach, and easy on-off the freeway. If you are looking for low end in SC, this is a decent choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Continental Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Inn

Address: 414 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 52 hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Continental Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Continental Inn is an affordably elegant hotel in the heart of Santa Cruz, just minutes from the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk and Municipal Wharf and just a short walk to the downtown area. Business and leisure travelers alike appreciate the amenities of our hotel. For comfort, convenience and quality service, the Continental Inn is your choice when visiting Santa Cruz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Continental Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Santa Cruz
Continental Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continental Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.