We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a trip for the sea lions” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Cruz Wharf

Santa Cruz Wharf
Beach Street, Santa Cruz, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 74 things to do in Santa Cruz
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Shopping
Attraction details
Bucks, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“worth a trip for the sea lions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

tacky and touristy but worth a trip to watch the sea lions asleep under the pier it was amazing there were hundreds of them. Look our for a set of steps 3/4 way down on the left side (the launch area). It made our day.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    163
    73
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A restaurant (not an attraction) - big burger at a reasonable price...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our family spent a day at the beach at Santa Cruz - unfortunately it was off season and the Boardwalk wasn't open on a Friday. Ended up on the wharf and found this great burger place. Burgers were large and juicy, fries were crispy on the outside, like baked potato on the inside. Prices were reasonable. And the service? Staff saw me looking at my burger so immediately came over to direct me to condiments. Great family place and would definitely go back. (p.s. Don't miss the milkshakes!) (p.p.s. Guess this COULD be an attraction - sea lions were sunning themselves on the dock opposite the restaurant)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“do not miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great for out of town guests to chose one of many seafood restaurants, enjoy the tourist shops, the down and out guitar player slouched on the sidewalk and hear and see the sea lions howling at the end of the warf.
On a clear day(if you have any imagination) you can see UFO's

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Worth the walk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stearns in Santa Barbara was better, and Monterey even better for all those free tasting of Clam Chowder but worth the walk if only for all those fantastic lazy sea lions

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“It's a wharf.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We like walking 'to the end of the wharf', watching the seals and pelicans and fellow tourists. But, in off season, it's a bit 'worn out' and 'under repair'....many stores were closed up tight which was a shame.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Cruz Wharf also viewed

 

Been to Santa Cruz Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Cruz Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.