We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE NEVER AGAIN !!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fireside Inn to your Saves list
Fireside Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   311 2nd St., Next to Boardwalk Bowl, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Paradise Inn By The Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
1 review
“TERRIBLE NEVER AGAIN !!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

These people are so rude and very unprofessional when it comes to a mixed race couple , giving us such a hard time checking in when we had spoke to a lady asking for the check in again because im not 21 yet it's very hard finding a room anyways , as soon as i walk in they're looking at me up and down in a( bad way .) I gave them my I.D then was going back saying that they need someone older then 18- 19 till my bf calls them on they're B.S saying we just called before we came so there wouldn't be a problem like this basically since im a young mixed girl they need someone 19 and up ?? After they said 18 clearly very racist ! Not only was it hard getting a room , they had a family also Indian watching our room every time we go our outside room this guy is walking back and forth . So I'm comfortable !!! After all that B.S we thought "hey let's stay another night " i go down they and they said that someone bought the room but i asked to let me see because i said i feel like you're just saying that because you don't want us here , i looked and only our room was the ONLY ONE THAT BOUGHT ONLINE , when they're two empty room under us . It's terrible people with brown skin can be racist to a mixed could very sweet and professional unlike these people . IF YOUR A COLOR RACE STAY AWAY FOR YOUR OWN GOOD . DON'T GIVE YOUR MONEY FOR A ROOM WITH BLACK MOLD EVERYWHERE

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FIRESIDE INN S, Manager at Fireside Inn, responded to this review, 5 days ago
I would like to make it clear that we do not discriminate against any guest based on race, color, religion, national origin, or any other basis the reviewer has accused us of. If so we would not checkin at all as all hotels reserve rights to refuse service to anyone.. If anyone were to take a look at the diverse make up of our guests on any given day, and you will find this to be undeniably true.Can understand yourvfrustration but We are getting booked very fast on firdays n saturdays as many people are looking for last moment reservations..most of all saturdays we get full before 11am..if someone is checkin on saturday and have a lil plan even for saturday stay also, we recommend to let us know upon checkin time only..so we can close that room online for saturday..we always prefer srayovers since the guest is paying for the room and respect our hotel policies..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    10
    2
    8
See reviews for
9
13
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hanford, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

We just got back from staying in Santa Cruz. We really lucked out finding the Fireside Inn. A block from the boardwalk and a 10 minute walk to the downtown area. You can't ask for a better location, excellent price and a really cozy room. The management were friendly and attentive. Such an awesome place to stay. I'll tell all of my friends about this place.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

We stayed for 3 nights during the week, so the prices were amazing! Management is super friendly and helpful, they used to work at a different motel and when they moved to Fireside, we followed! Never had a bad experience with them!

Fireside is conveniently located, takes only minutes to walk to boardwalk/wharf. The rooms are comfortable and clean, and upstairs offers a decent view of the boardwalk and beach on a clear day. You don't have to move your car or pay for parking since you're so close to everything!

We had a great experience, coffee at 830am every day, quiet and respectful guests, great room and great rates. We will always stay here when we are in Santa Cruz!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here in March for the weekend. Good price. Call them directly for discount. Male receptionist friendly. No continental breakfast. Hotel is right next to the bowling alley and the arcade. Boardwalk is literally less than 2 minutes walking and downtown 15 minutes walking. Room: noticed dirty mirrors on wall right away. The bathroom is pretty sub par. Dirty shower/shower head, gritty floor/tile, towels are paper thin. Flat screen tv with direct tv. Bed/pillows however were comfy and clean. Upgrade the bathroom and room and it will make a huge improvement. Overall not too bad of a place for Santa Cruz, we have stayed in many places here and this is a decent motel.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selma, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

This motel is one block from the boardwalk but is clean, quiet and comfortable. Don't let the list of rules at check in freak you out, it's meant to help you have a pleasant stay, the staff was friendly and accomadating. We will definitely stay here again. Very affordable considering its location!!!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FIRESIDE INN S, General Manager at Fireside Inn, responded to this review, February 24, 2015
Hello Darlene,
Thank you so much for your appreciation. Hope to see you again soon. Please call us direct to get room of your choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Great Location....very clean.....nice people.....better than I expected. Nice quite room with a beautiful view. See picture. The price I paid for this room was very good. It is so close to the beach and boardwalk that you can see everything that is going on there.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Stayed here for one night, the room was clean and ample, it was close to the boardwalk and came with parking, although the parking was tight and required a confident driver. Breakfast was basic but filled the hole so can't complain, maybe just a little bit on the expensive side but OK never the less, ideal for a stop over but not for any great length of time, the staff where also friendly

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fireside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn

Address: 311 2nd St., Next to Boardwalk Bowl, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Paradise Inn By The Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fireside Inn is located less than a 5-minute walk from the Santa Cruz Boardwalk and Coconut Grove. Under new management January of 2014, the Fireside Inn has been completely renovated to give the guest the best experience in the area. Other attractions within 5 miles are Lighthouse Field State Beach, University of California Santa Cruz, and the DeLaveaga Golf Course. Downtown Santa Cruz is a 10 minute walk, with dining, museums and shopping surrounding the Fireside Inn.The Fireside Inn Santa Cruz features free Wi-Fi. Free parking is included. All guest rooms are comfortably furnished with standard amenities including free high speed internet access, microwave, mini fridge, hair dryer, free local calls, alarm clock radio, and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Fireside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Inn By The Beach Hotel Santa Cruz
Paradise Hotel Santa Cruz
Paradise Motel Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.