We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Fireside Inn to your Saves list
Fireside Inn
311 2nd St., Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Paradise Inn By The Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Great Location....very clean.....nice people.....better than I expected. Nice quite room with a beautiful view. See picture. The price I paid for this room was very good. It is so close to the beach and boardwalk that you can see everything that is going on there.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    9
    2
    7
See reviews for
8
10
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Stayed here for one night, the room was clean and ample, it was close to the boardwalk and came with parking, although the parking was tight and required a confident driver. Breakfast was basic but filled the hole so can't complain, maybe just a little bit on the expensive side but OK never the less, ideal for a stop over but not for any great length of time, the staff where also friendly

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soulsbyville, Ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The room was adequate and seemed clean. The price was over the top for the quality of the room, however August is the top of the high season and the location was really great! Love Santa Cruz, Pacific Avenue and the Boardwalk!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

It is hard to beat the location of this hotel! Parking was never a problem and is included with your stay. Your one block from the Boardwalk and the beach! Staff was always friendly and enthusiastic. Rooms aren't the fanciest (few are in Santa Cruz) but the beds are comfortable and include a small fridge and microwave which is very useful especially with two little kids along. We had a great stay and enjoyed our visit. I think we'll make it a yearly thing!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I had stayed at this motel years ago, and remembered loving its close proximity to the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk (right across the street) and its location atop a hill overlooking the Boardwalk. We decided to stay here this trip, and were delighted to meet a new young couple running it who mentioned they had just started working at the property January 1st of this year. They were very friendly, attentive and helpful, and offered trip suggestions freely whenever asked. We were also happy to see a renovation had happened recently, with obviously new drapes, dual-pane windows (quiet sleeping!), tile, fixtures, flat-screen TV's with DirectTV, a pleasant area near the office outside to eat the free continental breakfast, and new room locks. The room was clean, the bed very comfortable. We often sat at the easy chair near our window, gazing out at the beautiful, colorful view of the Boardwalk and its roller coasters. We would definitely stay here again on our next trip--this has now become our motel for overnight stays in Santa Cruz.

Room Tip: I recommend any room on the top floor, for the view and the fact there is no one above you, that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Booked last minute on hotwire and got a room for a very fair price. It was central enough to walk into town and the room was comfortable even though it didn't feel very clean. It definitely fulfilled its purpose for a safe stay during our roadtrip, and the service was friendly.

Room Tip: Take a room on the top floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Disappointed. Smell of food by reception. Curry? Off hand receptionists - just doing the job, no real welcoming. Did not feel safe - Adjoining room said they had a new tablet stolen from the room. Bedding clean enough if a bit small for the nice big bed. Room cleaned/refreshed daily. Towels OK, very thin. A mishmash of furniture. No coffee maker.
Read the reviews carefully before booking. New owners this year.
Just not up to standard - I would choose somewhere else if going back to Santa Cruz.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fireside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn

Address: 311 2nd St., Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Paradise Inn By The Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fireside Inn is located less than a 5-minute walk from the Santa Cruz Boardwalk and Coconut Grove. Under new management January of 2014, the Fireside Inn has been completely renovated to give the guest the best experience in the area. Other attractions within 5 miles are Lighthouse Field State Beach, University of California Santa Cruz, and the DeLaveaga Golf Course. Downtown Santa Cruz is a 10 minute walk, with dining, museums and shopping surrounding the Fireside Inn.The Fireside Inn Santa Cruz features free Wi-Fi and a daily continental breakfast with pastries, juice and coffee. Free parking is included. All guest rooms are comfortably furnished with standard amenities including free high speed internet access, microwave, mini fridge, hair dryer, free local calls, alarm clock radio, and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fireside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Inn By The Beach Hotel Santa Cruz
Paradise Hotel Santa Cruz
Paradise Motel Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.