We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Set-Up for Family Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Beach Motel

Save Saved
You added Edgewater Beach Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Edgewater Beach Motel
525 2nd st, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 51 hotels in Santa Cruz
Sacramento, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Location and Set-Up for Family Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at Edgewater. I was traveling alone with my 3 children and the staff made us feel very at home. We stayed in a Family Suite, which had a full kitchen and separate bedroom and was really more of a flat that a hotel room. The accommodations were very roomy/comfy and the motel provided us with a beach ball/sand toys to borrow when we went to the beach, as well as games to borrow in the evening. Included breakfast was very simple with just yogurt and mini muffins and orange juice/coffee, but it was just fine for the kids and me. Location was fabulous also - steps to the beach and a short walk to the Boardwalk. Highly recommended for a family stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are well-located...only one seemed to have an actual ocean view. The hotel's website...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    18
    8
    9
    13
See reviews for
46
46
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

The room was clean and comfortable, the motel is well located. We easily walked to the beach and then downtown for drinks. The bed dipped in the middle which drives us nuts. Jacuzzi as a selling feature doesn't work for me, and shouldn't for anyone with any knowledge of the California water crisis. Basic rooms are probably better but we arrived late at night.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My daughter and I love to go to Santa Cruz every few months to experience the boardwalk and the beach. Unfortunately, the hotel on the beach that we normally stay at was completely booked as this was a last minute trip for us. After driving around, I noticed the sign for the Edgewater and that there was a vacancy. Not knowing what to expect, we stopped in at the front desk. The owners were absolutely solicitous and showed us the rooms that were available. There was ample space, a wonderful kitchen and best of all we could walk down the hill to the pier and the boardwalk. My daughter and I call this our accidental find, and we will definitely make this our first choice for our future Santa Cruz stays.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We paid a premium for a larger suite with a separate kitchen and family room. However the rooms were dark and outdated and definitely musty. One big problem was there was no space to hang wet towels, beach clothes, etc. It was functional and the bed was comfortable as well as a nice jacuzzi tub. The front office staff was very pleasant and again great location....just a walk down the hill to the pier and boardwalk. So, it does have some nice amenities, it was just very pricey for not having it all....why the 3 stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayd in room 115 it was very clean and the staff was awesome. They were really welcoming and very lgbt friendly. The room was so cute and welcoming it had a huge jacuzzi tube and was very clean the pool needs some updating but the water was clear and they have a really nice bbq picnic area. Our room was quite as well with a heater. Which we didnt need the one and only problem was there is no air conditioning. But they did provide nice fans. There is also a nice flat screen in all rooms im sure. as well as very comfortable beds. There memory foam. I would definitely stay here again in the off season becuase D. The front desk lady said that its alot less expensive. I am going to be here in oct!. Oh and this is literally200ft from the boradwalk which was awesome it is on the end of the boardwalk by the volley ball courts. I would recommened to anyone who is looking for something different. I would describe this inn as the madonna inn but smaller! ♥

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villach, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The motel is only a few steps away from the beach with its popular pier and the famous historic Beachwalk. The suits are comfortable and best equipped -and the reception desk people bend all over backwards to meet their guests requests. Have a try and find out for yourselves!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Very quaint and clean, with much of the charm one expects in Santa Cruz, and within easy walking distance of the Boardwalk and the Wharf. The rooms appear to have been updated and are comfortable with all the amenities one could want. Can't live without my Wifi!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edgewater Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Beach Motel

Address: 525 2nd st, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Cruz Beach Boardalk 1 block east and across from main beach & wharf. 17 unique non-smoking units. Spacious family suites with fully equipped kitchens, separate bedroom, and 2 T.V.'s. Enjoy our delightful climate while relaxing by our pool. Picnic area with gas BBQ's and great view. Short walk to downtown and west cliff drive. Some rooms with fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, and oceanviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Edgewater Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Beach Hotel Santa Cruz
Edgewater Beach Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.