We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay with kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Edgewater Beach Motel to your Saves list
Edgewater Beach Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   525 2nd st, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place to stay with kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed here last weekend and thought it was a great place to stay with kids. Our room had bunk beds (which they loved!) and my husband and I had plenty of room to hang out once the kids went to bed. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    24
    8
    9
    15
See reviews for
50
52
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I recently stayed at the Edgewater on a vacation / business trip. I took my wife and son on this trip as it is where we are from. The Edgewater has a nice selection of different layouts in their rooms and you are sure to find one that fits your needs. The room we stayed in was recently remodeled and was put together VERY well. I found it to be very clean. The pool area was nice and well kept and the BBQ area was a nice touch for my family to use and prepare a home cooked meal. The staff was help knowledgeable about the surrounding areas and willing to help. The internet connection was satisfactory for me to get work done. I would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone traveling with family, or just looking for a weekend getaway. The best part about the Edgewater is probably the location. Right across from the wharf and the boardwalk. If there was anything negative to say, it would be that the parking can be a little tight. The staff was very quick to accommodate us though and it was really no trouble - more of an annoyance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My friends from Sweden came to visit, a family of 6. I tried to find lodging for eight people in Santa Cruz for the days around July 4. This wasn't easy. I could find homes for rent, but they were very expensive and required a longer stay than we had planned. Hotels were not easy, either, because we would need several rooms, which would cost more than a house! Then I found the Edgewater Beach Motel! The price was half of what the eight person homes wanted per night, which made me a little skeptical about what to expect. Boy, were we happily surprised. They have a room that comfortably accomodates 8 people! We had two bathrooms, a kitchen, two TV's, a shared back patio and front patio; plus 3 queen beds and two murphy bunk beds! The biggest and best surprise of all was the location. On the map, it looks like you go down a street for a block, then turn for another half block to get to the Boardwalk, Wharf, Cowell or Main beaches. But, they actually have a giant parking lot at Edgewater, which connects almost directly to Main beach, just a short walk away. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We felt completely comfortable there. The kids loved the pool too. We were so close to all the fun that we could come "home" and take a little break before going out again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

It is overpriced, management has a bad attitude, lots of noise due to thin walls. I would have done better paying a third of the price elsewhere.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We enjoyed every minute of our vacation here!! The kids loved swimming in the pool & we had a place to BBQ while still watching them. Everyone was extremely helpful & our room was beautiful with an amazing view!!! We will continue to vacation here whenever possible!
Thank you Edgewater!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Buyer beware! Close to the beach but seedy, trashy, and honky tonk! Not just dated...its the kind of place where you'll wonder about your safety! Owners have a lousy attitude to boot. Worse than the pictures for sure. Anywhere else is probably better.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I decided to take a last minute trip to Santa Cruz and didn't expect to find a motel but we stumbled across this one. We liked it so much we decided to stay 2 more nights. All the people there had been there alot and were having a good time the pool was the best. they have a huge picnic and BBQ area that we used every night since our room had a kitchen. The only reason the even had room was because of a last minute cancellation, their loss is my gain!! we decided to make reservations again in august and in October> i have never seen rooms so clean and the staff was so helpful and friendly, the hotel next door, Beach Street Inn and Suites, was so rude when we checked to see if they had room. They had plenty of parking too, which can be hard to find. The=y even let our car stay all day on the day we checked out. Can't wait to return

Room Tip: They are all nice we got to see a bunch when people checked out
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Paradox
Hotel Paradox
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sea and Sand Inn
Sea and Sand Inn
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Beach Motel

Address: 525 2nd st, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater Beach Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Cruz Beach Boardalk 1 block east and across from main beach & wharf. 17 unique non-smoking units. Spacious family suites with fully equipped kitchens, separate bedroom, and 2 T.V.'s. Enjoy our delightful climate while relaxing by our pool. Picnic area with gas BBQ's and great view. Short walk to downtown and west cliff drive. Some rooms with fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, and oceanviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Edgewater Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Beach Hotel Santa Cruz
Edgewater Beach Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.