We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locals can enjoy the beach area too.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Beach Motel

Save Saved
You added Edgewater Beach Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Edgewater Beach Motel
525 2nd st, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 51 hotels in Santa Cruz
Watsonville, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Locals can enjoy the beach area too.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We recently enjoyed a visit with friends in the Captain's Cabin and loved having dinner watching the ocean from the room. It is so beautiful and quiet and it really hits you that life is going on down below you but you don't hear a thing. The view is spectacular. We were treated very nicely by the staff and got a small tour of some of the rooms. We found the staff to be very accommodating and friendly. The rooms are so unique with fireplaces and jet tubs in some and kitchenettes and family friendly units in others. I look forward to another visit in the near future and a longer stay. It's a great getaway even if you are from the Santa Cruz area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    17
    8
    9
    13
See reviews for
44
44
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Great Location, easy walk to Beach Boradwalk, Wharf, and Santa Cruz Garden Mall. The views of the ocean and surfers can't be beat. The Temperpedic beds are very comfortable and the staff were some of the best I've experienced in my travels.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This was so close to the beach! The staff was really friendly and attentive. The rooms are unique and cozy. I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Different rooms have different views, so you can ask for the best one :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I stayed here on 12/23 to 12/25 2011. I brought my dog Snoopy with me and it was so comfortable, clean and like a little beach apartment I didn't want to leave!!! I enjoyed the location to watch Cowell beach surfers and do some bar hopping at night WALKING of course...enjoyed the bar at the end called Olitas!!! and there is a great place to eat and dring called IDEAL just at the end of the hotel driveway...Inside the rooms the dual glass fireplace is so great, the owners are so accommodating and welcoming I literally felt at home. There are 17 different rooms and themes I want to take 16 more weekends to stay in each of the rooms at least once!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esparto, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Great view!! Walking distance to the Boardwalk. Great experience as a whole!

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Enjoyed a wonderful Thanksgiving stay at this hotel. The staff was absolutely fabulous and treated us like a five star hotel. It has a great view of Santa Cruz beach from the top of the hill and simple, easy access down the hill about maybe 300 meters to the beach. The room was perfect for us with a microwave and fridge. The huge bath tub surprised me too. If you want an easy location with quick access to the Pacific Ocean this is the place for you. Perfect little deck area to sit quietly and watch the waves and world go by too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011 via mobile

The room was nice and clean. The room had a fireplace that was in the wall between the room and the bathroom. Very nice while sitting in the jacuzzi tub. Located 50 yards from the Boardwalk.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edgewater Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Beach Motel

Also Known As:
Edgewater Beach Hotel Santa Cruz
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Santa Cruz
Address: 525 2nd st, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Cruz Beach Boardalk 1 block east and across from main beach & wharf. 17 unique non-smoking units. Spacious family suites with fully equipped kitchens, separate bedroom, and 2 T.V.'s. Enjoy our delightful climate while relaxing by our pool. Picnic area with gas BBQ's and great view. Short walk to downtown and west cliff drive. Some rooms with fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, and oceanviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Edgewater Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.