We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Picnic Basket

The Picnic Basket
125 Beach St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
831.427.9946
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 327 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“All round good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We came for dinner and found they were closing...they hadn't updated their hours on their website : (
So we came back for breakfast. Tasty turnovers and even the oatmeal was exceptional....so we came back the next day for lunch. We both had excellent salads and because the person who recommended the place, especially spoke of good Ice cream, we had to try it. There are several unusual flavors; we went for fennel. It was wonderful. It's all a tad pricey, but really, not out of line for the very fresh ingredients and the creative flavors.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    49
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“clean, fast, fresh friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Casual, beach cafe with a delicious breakfast! Love the to-go option. Would be great for packing lunch.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

wonderful sandwiches and ice cream. A little expensive but what isn't being right across from the Boardwalk

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches for the Beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Located right across the street for the beach at the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, the Picnic Basket is the perfect place to stop for sandwiches and drinks before heading to frolic on the beach. Even when they are not busy during non-peak hours, it takes them several minutes to put together your sandwich but it is fresh. I ate here twice in two days. The first day I had a turkey avocado sandwich, which was falling apart with avocado (bring napkins!). The second day I had the egg salad sandwich, which was also messy but good. One of the highlights is the pickled peppers on both sandwiches. They also have homemade soda, which is tasty (not too sugary though could have used more bubbles) and refreshing.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good for quick breakfast bite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Not many breakfast choices but what they do have is good and healthy made from locally grown or raised products. You won't find eggs and pancakes here and seating is a bit scarce but if you care about where your food comes from, this is the place to go.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Picnic Basket also viewed

 

Been to The Picnic Basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Picnic Basket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.