We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   338 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 5524   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 51 hotels in Santa Cruz
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excelent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This motel was extremely pleasant. The owners were very nice. Great room, comfortable bed and great location. I left my prescription glasses and WiFi card in the room and the owner/manager did everything to assure I got it back to me in Washington State. This is my definite go to place to stay whenever I go to visit Santa Cruz. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    136
    39
    10
    4
See reviews for
108
104
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I remember staying in Super 8's as a kid and they were always one of the cheaper, no frills places. I haven't stayed in one for over 20 years but this one is as great as they come. It is in a fantastic location - only a few blocks from the boardwalk, river and downtown area. The owners are SUPER nice and lovely. The room was really nice and spacious with a comfortable, clean bed and good bathroom. The wifi worked very well. They have free parking and a swimming pool AND a great breakfast - you can make your own waffles (!!!!!) and they have yoplait yogurt, coffee, juice, toast, etc. my only complaint was that we could hear the traffic outside on the road as our room faced the road by the river but it wasn't at all a dealbreaker. I totally recommend the Super 8!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Large, clean comfortable room with a flat screen TV. Good location, it's walking distance to the boardwalk. Loved using the waffle maker for breakfast in the morning. We had a great stay, the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Reserved a room for New Years Eve. Price was decent....$100 (total with tax) for a room with a king size bed.

Room was clean, staff was friendly and helpful, there were many items to chose from for breakfast the next morning, and it's a great location.

I researched the hell out of this place before we stayed. I wanted to get a cheap price on a room, but I didn't want to be in the "bad" part of town either. I felt comfortable leaving my car here and staying the night.

The one negative thing I have to say is that the walls are SUPER SUPER THIN. Try to get a room upstairs.You may even hear your neighbors right next door to you (hearing kids screaming at 7:00am after being out super late really sucks.)

I would possibly stay here again if I needed a cheap room or for the location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I was a long-term guest at this Super 8 in 2013. Great location - clean rooms - good value. But what really sets it apart from even the higher priced hotels is the wonderful and super-helpful management of Praf and Suni Patel, the King and Queen of Hospitality in Santa Cruz. If they don't know something, it doesn't exist:) They will make your stay at Super 8 East joyous.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review. We were happy to have you as a guest and it truly does make us all swell with pride when we hear that we helped make your stay with us enjoyable. Thank you again and we look forward to hearing from you in the future.

Sincerely,
Suni and Praf
General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East

Address: 338 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 5524
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East Hotel Santa Cruz
Super Eight Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Super Eight
Santa Cruz Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.