We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Good value, Friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East to your Saves list
Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   338 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 5524   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Napa, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location, Good value, Friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed here for a single night prior to the Capitola Half Marathon. It's a great location in relation to the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk (less than 5 minute walk). They have a nice pool, the room was very clean and everything was in working order. The couple that was working there were very friendly and even remembered me and asked me about how my run was the next day when they saw me. Nice personal touch.

It did seem a little expensive for a Super 8 motel; I suspect the location contributes to the higher price. I didn't make use of the free breakfast but the lobby was a little small; you may want to enjoy your breakfast outside if the weather allows.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    146
    40
    12
    4
See reviews for
122
113
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great place to stay with family. Boardwalk is walking distance and the attractions are excellent if you are with children. The hotel is neat and clean and the owners are really nice and helpful. Nothing negative to say about the efforts to keep this place nice BUT the breakfast area is a two person sized corner of the reception area so we carried the breakfast to our room.

Room Tip: Choose the twin double bed if you have kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Very clean and well kept motel. Nothing negative to say about the efforts to keep this place nice BUT the breakfast area is a two person sized corner of the reception area. And, if get there late in the evening there will be nowhere to park. Pros: Nice big balcony upstairs overlooking the pool with tables and chairs. Very helpful, friendly staff and most importantly, although showing signs of wear its all kept very clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This motel is only 3 blocks from the Boardwalk. A good price for being so close. Clean with comfortable bedding and extra parking in back. The management is friendly and very helpful. we arrived early, about 3 hours before check in and they allowed us to park there so that we could go and enjoy the boardwalk with out having to pay extra parking fees. The kids loved making their own waffles in the morning. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East

Address: 338 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 5524
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East Hotel Santa Cruz
Super Eight Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Super Eight
Santa Cruz Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.