We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Santa Cruz Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East to your Saves list
Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   338 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 5524   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Stockton, California, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant Santa Cruz Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Most smaller hotels in beach towns leave a lot to be desired but this hotel is better than most. The room we stayed in (106) was clean, had a comfortable bed, and all of the extras you would expect in a decent hotel. The front desk clerks were friendly and helpful. We were there off season so it was very quite but I could see it being noisy during the summer, but all places will be at that time. The biggest negative was that the towels are very thin and scratchy. A little attention to this one area would make this hotel's star shine a little brighter. I would stay here again and recommend it to travelers.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid street noise you may ask for a room in back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    146
    40
    12
    4
See reviews for
122
113
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The location of this hotel is ideal - 3 minutes walk to the boardwalk & beach! Free parking was a bonus. Staff were very helpful & friendly. Breakfast was basic but fine with cereal, juice & toast, tea & coffee. Room was nice - large & we had one on the first floor which opened out onto a terrace with tables & chairs. Nice to sit out with a glass of wine in the evening. Pool was clean - cold but refreshing!

Room Tip: Room on first floor has a terrace with tables & chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The rooms are clean and comfortable and just right for the reasonable price. The best thing about this motel is that it is only 2 short blocks to the boardwalk and beach. It is a 15 minute walk to the downtown area of shops, restaurants and bars. Staff is friendly and there's a nice breakfast of coffee/juice, waffles, toast, muffins, yoghurt and fruit. Some rooms back on to a busy road so maybe ask for a room other than those. I would definitely stay here again if I was going back to Santa Cruz especially to be so near the beach!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Wow, we felt so utterly welcomed and valued as guests by the manager Sunni and her husband Praf when we checked in! Yes, the room was just fine--clean, great shower and comfortable bed--for a very reasonable price, compared to other places. We even stayed a day longer than we had planned. Sunni and Praf were like tourist guides, suggesting places to visit, giving us complimentary maps of all kinds, giving us driving directions to the surfing championship, the art galleries, boardwalk attractions like the glassworks, etc, etc. The morning breakfasts were great--yogurt, do-it-yourself-waffles, pastries, coffee of course, etc. When we were leaving, other guests were leaving too. Their behavior was the same--they hugged Sunni and Praf as if they were relatives/old friends sorry to leave. Yep, we will return in a heartbeat when we visit again visit my son at UCSC--maybe just to visit Sunni and Praf ...

Room Tip: Upstairs might have a bit more privacy, since the swimming pool is next to many of the downstairs ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East

Address: 338 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 5524
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East Hotel Santa Cruz
Super Eight Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Super Eight
Santa Cruz Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.