We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressively shocking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East to your Saves list
Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   338 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 5524   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    148
    41
    13
    4
See reviews for
124
113
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our trip down the coast. The reviews on here are not wrong. This place is excellent. The staff and service were exceptional, our room was huge, spotless, smart and comfortable - even had an iPod dock. We were in the room above reception, stepping right out onto the veranda area, which was a lovely spot to eat our good, basic continental breakfast. The location is ideal for the Boardwalk. Overall, super value for money and can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We chose this Super 8 based on reviews and decided to take a chance.It was within walking distance to the Boardwalk and wharf. We checked in on October 15th (w/o reservation) and to check out on October 18th. At first we were not impressed with the overall area, but hey, it's old and dated. History, you know....? Wow, we were impressed with our room. Nice furniture, nice and clean bedding, immaculate kept bathroom and lots of personal products for the bathroom each day. Both Praf and Suni were very gracious,accomodating & caring. Continental breakfast is just what it is and with lots of choices. We enjoyed sitting out on top of the terrance and eating our breakfast. The only negative I would say is the parking lot. Tight spaces and away from your rooms. But that is out of Suni & Praf's control. Due to changes in our trip, we came back on October 18th that evening and checked in for another night's stay. Would stay here again without hestitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We found this Super 8 by a happy accident. The manager Suni and her husband made us very welcome and answered all our needs.
The rooms were clean and in good condition. After leaving we drove on down to Monterey, and having a couple of days to use up before flying home we returned to this motel for two more night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and were very impressed, this place is seriously good value. The room was huge, the bed was amazingly comfortable and the staff were really friendly and helpful. We sat out by the pool one day and that was nice. Breakfast was okay, just standard motel fare, but there is a nice roof terrace where you can sit out and eat it. Location couldn't be much better...about 5 minute walk to the boardwalk and beach. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here while dropping our son at UCSC. Room was very clean, breakfast was very good, price was right for the area and management was super friendly and helpful. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Just note that parking lot is extremely small but we parked on the street after 8pm with no issues.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East

Address: 338 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 5524
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East Hotel Santa Cruz
Super Eight Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Super Eight
Santa Cruz Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.