We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, tight parking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   338 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 5524   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 51 hotels in Santa Cruz
Fayetteville, AR
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, tight parking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights. Very tight parking but was able to pick a spot to give me room to manuver the SUV. Tight exit at back of hotel. Rooms were nice and had everything we needed. Was able to walk within blocks down to the Boardwalk and the beach.
In a area where in the evenings, I am unsure if you would feel very safe walking through. During the day, it seemed OK and not too worrisome. Worth it to not pay the boardwalk parking fee. Small continental breakfast in the office but enough to get by on. Would prefer breakfast starting a little earlier. One morning we had to leave early for surf lessons and since breakfast did not open until 7 AM, we waited until they unlocked the door, grabbed some breakfast and ate it very quickly. Did not use the pool, days were not warm. Pool is small. Comfortable beds, nice TV and A/C/Heat seemed to work fine. Everytime I check into a hotel, I check the towel supply and the coffeemaker supply and this hotel had both and were adequate. Microwave and frig in room also. Would stay here again if coming to the area.

Room Tip: Good value for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    136
    39
    10
    4
See reviews for
108
104
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

The room was very good sized with a powerful air conditioner. The staff was very helpful and kind. Next time we are in Santa Cruz we will absolutely stay here again. Oh and plentiful free parking on site as well.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011 via mobile

Close to the boardwalk and to the beach, nice service, comfortable beds and everything was great...for a motel....:)
I would recommend this motel to everybody:):) have a nice sleep!!!
Why do I have to ride 300 signs????????????????:P:);):)
...............I hope this information was helpful:):):):):):)...............

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka District, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Basic motel. Clean. Quiet. Basic free breakfast. Great Wifi. Beds were comfortable. Wonderful location to the Santa Cruz Boardwalk just a short walk down the road. Laundromat in walking distance. Lots of restaurants driving distance. Pool wasn't heated until the Memorial Day Weekend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011 via mobile

We were immediately greeted with friendly staff. The room was way beyond our expectations. Fantastic! Super clean, quiet, soft mattress, comfy sheets. We couldn't ask for more, especially for being a Super 8. The person on staff was very helpful in helping us locate a place to dine & also gave plenty of information about the local a activities. Although we didn't go to the beach, it was within walking distance. Super nice!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011 via mobile

Hotel is within 2 min walk of beach and Boardwalk and rides etc, and 5 min drive into downtown.

Rooms were great for the price.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

This hotel is very convenient to the Boardwalk area, The rooms are your typical motel rooms - nothing special, but they are clean with nice amenities. I can't say enough about the friendliness of the staff. The wifi was acting up and they fixed it immediately, and were very helpful at all times. You really felt like they appreciated your staying there, which (strangely enough) many other places don't seem to do.

Parking can get a bit tight. I was there during an off-time, and was lucky enough to get a space. It can be hard to find if you aren't really looking - it's immediately past a bridge, and on a one-way street going toward the Boardwalk. So if you are coming FROM the Boardwalk, it can get tricky with all the one way streets.

If you can't stay at the Dream Inn when in Santa Cruz, this is a great (and much more affordable) runner-up.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East

Address: 338 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 5524
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East Hotel Santa Cruz
Super Eight Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Super Eight
Santa Cruz Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Santa Cruz Boardwalk East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.