We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood,great view, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fire Fish Grill

Fire Fish Grill
25 Municipal Wharf, Santa Cruz, CA (Formerly Gilbert's)
(831) 423-5200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 328 restaurants in Santa Cruz
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great seafood,great view, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We picked the Fire Fish Grill at random as we walked along the Santa Cruz pier.It was a good choice. I had the daily special which was grilled seabass with shrimp. The fish was cooked to perfection. My partner had the crab cakes. We shared a creme brullee for desert. We had a window table overlooking the sea. Service was friendly. I recommend this place, particularly if you want seafood.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    27
    53
    23
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ELK GROVE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Big Flair, flavor, not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were given several recommendations to visit Fire Fish Grill, so thought we'd give it a try. I was initially disappointed with the menu selection. Ended up settling for Fish & Chips, but was NOT impressed. Food server was pleasant but clearly OVER WORKED. Disappointed, and better restaurants are on the wharf.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Ups and Downs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is really about a 3.5; it had strong points and weak ones. The location on the wharf is wonderful and has good views of the sunsets. The food is good (swordfish very good; crab cakes just OK) and the prices are reasonable. And my wife had a very good Pina Colada. But the service was a bit off. They brought out the main courses before my wife had finished her cup of chowder (and she wasn't just letting it sit there). They didn't offer more bread when we finished the three rolls in the initial order. And I had a little trouble with the order (I asked to substitute rice pilaf for risotto, but it came out with the risotto). They fixed it graciously, but it took longer than it should have and the food came when wife was done with her meal. All in all, this isn't a bad place; it just isn't a great one.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice View and Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The only bummer was that I was hoping for local seafood as the location is on a warf on the California coast. The seafood is fresh; just not local. The food was good (had sand dab for the first time). My husband had the swordfish cooked on their mesquite grill. Both entrees were very good, although I did like mine better! Excellent service and a good local beer selection.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This restaurant was packed when we went. The service was good and the food excellent. Again not cheap but tasted great in a really good location.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fire Fish Grill also viewed

 

Been to Fire Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fire Fish Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.