We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Cruz wkend” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Santa Cruz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Knights Inn Santa Cruz to your Saves list
Knights Inn Santa Cruz
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   510 Liebrandt Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Monterey, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Santa Cruz wkend”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were only stuck here becuase of having a pet along and not planning far enough ahead. They havent drained the pool, but that would be the only thing this family spends money on. Our bed sat on blocks of wood, dirty cigarette burned bed spread, torn carpet, holes in walls. They have poor tenants living downstairs in garage spaces which tells us nobody from Knights Inn Corporate nor Santa Cruz County can manage to inspect this property and suggest U.S. standards be implemented. Same price range as better Inns so plan ahead, inspect if possible before renting room.

Room Tip: Seaway Inn, same price but 2 blocks closer to boardwalk and they reinvest in property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    21
    11
    33
See reviews for
23
30
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Bay, Bay Area
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I agree with most of the other reviewers. This place is just ok to stay one night and leave. Santa Cruz itself is a city that can't get anything quite right and is known for it's hippy trashyness and this motel fits it well.

The good is that the price is relatively low, only compared to some others around it; otherwise, it is a 39.99 motel at best. The owners give you the smallest size soap bar that exists. You will swear that is a chocolate sample. We couldn't stop laughing. You get no shampoo unless you ask and then they begrudgingly give you one bottle. There is no breakfast and the walls and floor are made of balsa wood meaning one can hear everyone else walking around or doing anything.

The furniture is worn, the carpet is old and it has a tube TV, but a fair amount of cable channels to watch if that is what you like doing in the hotel room. The refer has ice built up from years so the door barely closes and rubs on it. There is mildew all around the outside of the bathtub. The inside is clean. You can walk a few blocks to the Boardwalk as that was our main intention of being there. I wouldn't book more than an overnight stay at the Knights Inn unless they start giving the poor place some attention. I slept on the bed, or laid on it for a night, let us never speak of it again....

Room Tip: As noisy as the floor was for us walking on it upstairs, I would think that being downstairs would h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knights7985, Owner at Knights Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us for at- least 1 night and thanking you for bringing some of the important items to our attention which otherwise would not come. The soap is being upgraded to a facial soap for the vanities and a deoderent soap for the bath area, shampoo is also being included. The new 32 inch televisions have just arrived in our warehouse ready to be installed and we are not able to install right now due to the high occupancy as it is the summer holidays. we strive to give you clean accomodations but cannot govern the noise which your fellow guests make, unless you let our office know and we may be able to take the necessary action. We do not provide a continental breakfast as we are not obligated under our franchise agreement with the Knights brand. At this point we apologize for the small inconvenience caused by our errors. We would like to invite you back in the later fall to experience our new additions. For a personal discount coupon for your next visit, please call me the owner Dilip Patel at 8315888450 and I will be happy to reserve your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Service was very good, room clean with 3 beds, my granddaughter was very happy to have her own bed.. All of us were surprise about the location, service, and room size. Parking is a little bit small.. the people upstairs were walking too loud .. But we are definitely going back to Santa Cruz and this hotel is our hotel from now on... Our family loved it !! Cheers to Knights Inn.. keep it up!!

Room Tip: The room 106 has 3 room with one bed in each room. Refrigerator, microwave.. a little bit noise beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knights7985, Owner at Knights Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and making it your home away from home and we appreciate the comments on which we may be able to improve our facilities. we have 6 units of the type you stayed in with 3 queen size beds for a family of up to 6 Persons. We look forward to seeing you all again soon and we look forward to give you all the same good services from our staff. Once again thank you for your kind patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Knights Inn is relatively inexpensive and very close to the Boardwalk. It was the best tradeoff between price, quality, and distance from the Boardwalk. We stayed in the just remodelled "White House" building and the accomodations were superb. The staff was very attentive.

Unfortunately, our car was broken into overnight and a lot of stuff was stolen. The hapless hotel staff tried to be helpful. There are about 8 exterior video cameras and the Manager was going to review 8 hours of overnight video for us. This took a while because the fastest he could to run it was 3x. Better lighting in the parking lot would have helped. The police officer was also very helpful and sympathetic, and even attempted to lift fingerprints. It's a shame that this criminal act spoiled what otherwise would have been a delightful sojourn in Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knights7985, Owner at Knights Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us as we strive to improve our accomodations standards everyday. We are upset about your crime ordeal and apologize for this inconvenience. We look forward to seeing you soon again. Again we thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Reasonable location, apparently safe, our room was clean (although some might find the bathroom a bit awkward). We had room 200B, which made this a better stay, because we basically had our own balcony (it could also be accessed by 200C [?], I think). I'm not sure we would have been as pleased with another room, so perhaps we were lucky. Jesus on the staff was very cordial and helpful when we arrived--recommended a good pizza place (Woodstock). Parking is complicated but we found it ultimately manageable. For the amount we paid, we were satisfied.

Room Tip: Ask for 200B or 200C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knights7985, Owner at Knights Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and your kind patronage and that you had a good stay. Our staff works hard to please and exceed our guests satisfaction. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. God bless and see you all soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I wasn't expecting much because of other reviews but we loved it. The location was great, room size was perfect, it was quiet at night. The staff was extremely nice. I think it is family owned so I liked that part. Cannot wait to go back. Thanks, Knight Inn!

Room Tip: Room next to the office the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knights7985, Owner at Knights Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at our family friendly motel and are really happy to hear that our staff was there to assist. We thrive to deliver a good experience and do succeed most of the time and fail at some point as the reviews show weaker points and areas. We look forward to serving you and your family again next year and will look forward to give you the same experience even if it is another room as we carry on working hard to make all our rooms alike. Once again thanking you for staying with us and letting others know of your stay with us.
Dilip Patel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My family recently stayed at the Knight's Inn. We were looking for a less expensive place to stay for our annual trip to Santa Cruz. When we entered our room, I was in awe!! It was bigger and more up to date than other places we have stayed in Santa Cruz. Our second day there we met the owner and his family. They were all so polite and open to talking to us. Mr. Patel talked with us about the huge Victorian house that is located right next to the hotel. He also gave us a personal tour of the new B&B type hotel that is opening next door. When we are able to go back without the kids, we are definitely staying there!! After staying 2 nights, we left and realized that I had left my laptop in the room. We called and it was in the office. Mrs. Patel had gone and personally checked to make sure that nothing had been left in the room. I met the cleaning staff and trusted that they would not have taken it if they had been the ones to find it. When I returned to retrieve my laptop, Mr. Patel gave me an easier way to the CA1 freeway. We had a few glitches when we checked in and spoke to Mr. Patel with our concerns about his staff member. He assured us that he would have a word with her about our issues. I realize that some parts of her job seem repetitive, but as this was the first time staying there, I don't know where the ice machine is, that there is a wifi code, or that housekeeping stops by everyday. Those were minor irritations and not enough to stop me from staying again when I am back with my children or at the other inns that Mr. and Mrs. Patel are going to be opening in the near future when we travel alone. Also, as for the TV, the ones that have commented that their TV was "broken", you have to change the channel to channel 3 (on the TV not with the remote), then use the remote to change the channel to other cable channels. For some reason it does go back to "video" after being off for a while. We had a great experience and enjoyed the family atmosphere surrounding the whole area.

Room Tip: Ask for 200C if you are planning on staying more than one night. This room has a full kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knights7985, Owner at Knights Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Once again thank you and the family for staying with us on your recent visit. It was a pleasure to speak to your family and it was my opportunity to show you what is our new project of building the b and b next door and I hope you liked the 4 suites which are just ready to rent. I am happy to hear your family had a good stay with us and hope for your future stays be the same. We appreciate the comments and will take up with the front desk staff to be more polite and accurate on the info given to our guests. We are always working hard to make sure our guests have a good Santa Cruz experience and look forward to seeing you all again next year or sooner.
Dilip Patel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knights Inn Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Santa Cruz

Address: 510 Liebrandt Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Santa Cruz 1.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Knights Inn Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Knights Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Santa Cruz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.