We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay in SC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Santa Cruz

Save Saved
You added Knights Inn Santa Cruz to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Knights Inn Santa Cruz
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   510 Liebrandt Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 51 hotels in Santa Cruz
Porto Alegre, RS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Stay in SC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I booked it during a business trip to SC and payed $55/night.

The hotel is well located, just 2 or 3 blocks from the boardwalk and the pier. It's just one or 2 miles away from downtown too.
The room (202) was totally OK: clean, confortable, cable TV, refrigerator, oven, good size and not very old... just the smell was a little stronger than I'd like, but not so bad. Also, the water pressure in the shower head was so strong that almost hurt. kkkkk
Unfortunately, the breakfast was pretty weak: just donuts, coffe and artificial juice. The internet was free and it was fine.
The staff in the front desk was very kind and helpful.

For the price that I payed, I'd recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knights7985, Owner at Knights Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
We thank you for a fair review, as we thank you for your patronage at our hotel. We are glad you had a good stay and we look forward to having you back in the coming future. Our rates and location are kept in line with our competition. Once again Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    21
    11
    32
See reviews for
22
28
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Friant, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had rolled into town on a motorcycle trip we arrived early and didn't expect to be able to check in but the manager was very accommodating and was able to expedite our check in and gave us a secure place to park our bikes. they even upgraded our room . great location just a short walk to the boardwalk and pier. yet far enough away that it was quiet and got great rest there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knights7985, Owner at Knights Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thanking you for your kind patronage. We appreciate staying with us. We are happy for your good experience at our Motel. We thrive to give a great service to all our guests. We look forward to see you again in the near future. Thanking you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade City, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stay away! I was double charged by the owner/operator and I have filed a complaint with the credit bureau and with the credit card company. The owner is nasty and argued with me about the incorrect billing. The breakfast was a box of donuts and coffee (and the coffee had run out)--just all around poor. Absolutely the worst experience I ever had in any hotel.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knights7985, Owner at Knights Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Hi My name is Dilip Patel and I am the owner and you did not speak to me as I dont recall any of what yo are saying and I am not rude or dishonnest about charging you double.That just does not add up.If you have a concern please call me personally at 8315888450 on my mobile and I will personally handle your issue.Your complaint is about our breakfast which doughnuts, tea, coffee and juices and our rooms. Please clarify that the problem is not with the cleanliness of the rooms but managerial issues.About your double charge, [lease let me know and we will make the neccessary adjustments for your refunds.we still have not been contacted by the bussiness beareau you are talking about. Please follow up on this and give me a call. I am sorry you did not have a good experience but in any case thanks for the patronafe to our hotel and our santa cruz city as a whole. PLaese give us some consideration as we try to make it right.
Thanking you in advance,
Dilip Patel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

The room is not bad at all I thought it would be crusty but it's actually better than I expected two queen beds and one rollaway bed to accommodate 5 of us. A very short walk to the board walk and restaurants. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knights7985, Owner at Knights Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thanks for staying with us and look forward to see you again in the near future. For a 1.5 star property, we try hard to have a clean and comfortable property at a reasonable price and an execelent location from the beach and downtown. Next year our intention is to have all rooms with 2 and 3 beds only for families. Our light continental breakfast includes sport juice, coffee and doughnuts. thanks again for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Great location, an easy walk to the boardwalk, pier and beach. The outside of the motel needs a good clean and make over. Staff were friendly and polite and the shower was good. Breakfast was not worth having. The clock radio was broken.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knights7985, Owner at Knights Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thanks for staying with us and we apologize for the broken clock, but was replaced before you returned from the beach when our housekeeping cleaned your room.We are mandated for a light continental breakfast consisting of juice, coffee and doughnuts according to our franchise agreements.We do again thank you for patronage and strive to keep giving our guests a good santa cruz experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Really bad experience, dirty rooms, wifi connection not available because rooter was broken, breakfast supposed to be in corner where you can only stand and you can have only coffee and, maybe, one donuts. There are a few parking stalls and if you are not resident you have to park n the road after 9PM. Voucher to park were over. Experience to forget. Price for all this, crazy high, more than 100 USD.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knights7985, Owner at Knights Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
we apologize for the inconvinient stay, but our rooms are clean and comfortable and not dirty as you state.All our reviews never mention dirty rooms because they are not.You may not know what a dirty room looks like.May be look around the sarrounding motel rooms and then you can compare our property. Our breakfast is mandated by our franchise to provide juice, coffee and doughnuts. Well better than nothing as you get in Italy. Our beach area has very strict parking situation and we still provide free parking and not charge for it. but dont get used to it as next time you come to santa crua you will be paying mandatorily for parking just like san fransisco. in any case thanks for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We chose this hotel for the location and price. The room was old and one of the beds was terrible. The towels were thin and the soap was so small that it disolved by the end of the night. There was no clock radio and the remote for the TV was broken. When we told the management about the lack of a clock radio his reply was that they did not keep clock radios in the rooms. The microwave was loud and squeaked and their was a large wet spot in front of the refrigerator. They advertised a continential breakfast but what served was stale donuts, koolaid and weak coffee. The good part about the hotel was the pool which was heated and refreshing after a day at the boardwalk. It seemed like the management was a little too focused on cutting cost which was too bad because with a little effort this could be a nice place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Knights Inn Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Santa Cruz

Address: 510 Liebrandt Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Santa Cruz 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Knights Inn Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Knights Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Santa Cruz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.