We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I needed for a short family getaway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Santa Cruz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Knights Inn Santa Cruz to your Saves list
Knights Inn Santa Cruz
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   510 Liebrandt Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Stockton, California, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Just what I needed for a short family getaway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

The room is not bad at all I thought it would be crusty but it's actually better than I expected two queen beds and one rollaway bed to accommodate 5 of us. A very short walk to the board walk and restaurants. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knights7985, Owner at Knights Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thanks for staying with us and look forward to see you again in the near future. For a 1.5 star property, we try hard to have a clean and comfortable property at a reasonable price and an execelent location from the beach and downtown. Next year our intention is to have all rooms with 2 and 3 beds only for families. Our light continental breakfast includes sport juice, coffee and doughnuts. thanks again for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    21
    11
    33
See reviews for
23
30
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Great location, an easy walk to the boardwalk, pier and beach. The outside of the motel needs a good clean and make over. Staff were friendly and polite and the shower was good. Breakfast was not worth having. The clock radio was broken.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knights7985, Owner at Knights Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thanks for staying with us and we apologize for the broken clock, but was replaced before you returned from the beach when our housekeeping cleaned your room.We are mandated for a light continental breakfast consisting of juice, coffee and doughnuts according to our franchise agreements.We do again thank you for patronage and strive to keep giving our guests a good santa cruz experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecetto Torinese, Italy
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Really bad experience, dirty rooms, wifi connection not available because rooter was broken, breakfast supposed to be in corner where you can only stand and you can have only coffee and, maybe, one donuts. There are a few parking stalls and if you are not resident you have to park n the road after 9PM. Voucher to park were over. Experience to forget. Price for all this, crazy high, more than 100 USD.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knights7985, Owner at Knights Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
we apologize for the inconvinient stay, but our rooms are clean and comfortable and not dirty as you state.All our reviews never mention dirty rooms because they are not.You may not know what a dirty room looks like.May be look around the sarrounding motel rooms and then you can compare our property. Our breakfast is mandated by our franchise to provide juice, coffee and doughnuts. Well better than nothing as you get in Italy. Our beach area has very strict parking situation and we still provide free parking and not charge for it. but dont get used to it as next time you come to santa crua you will be paying mandatorily for parking just like san fransisco. in any case thanks for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We chose this hotel for the location and price. The room was old and one of the beds was terrible. The towels were thin and the soap was so small that it disolved by the end of the night. There was no clock radio and the remote for the TV was broken. When we told the management about the lack of a clock radio his reply was that they did not keep clock radios in the rooms. The microwave was loud and squeaked and their was a large wet spot in front of the refrigerator. They advertised a continential breakfast but what served was stale donuts, koolaid and weak coffee. The good part about the hotel was the pool which was heated and refreshing after a day at the boardwalk. It seemed like the management was a little too focused on cutting cost which was too bad because with a little effort this could be a nice place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with our room it was pretty large. The bathroom was huge. We had a room with 2 double beds the 2nd one was in separate alcove. The location was perfect for walking to the beach and boardwalk. I felt we had a great deal. I only have 1 complaint. 1st there was some sort of issue with another cusomer and at 10:30 at night they were moved to the room above us. They were takling very loud outside and then when they got in the upstairs room the floor was very squeeky. We turned on the AC to drown out the noise. Thankfully they went right to sleep. The "free" continential breakfast was coffee and Donuts the kids liked the donuts.

Room Tip: May want a top floor to avoid a noisy ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

It's a last minute's booking since we changed our plan a little bit.
Got this one through priceline in which the ranking was good.
Terrible terrible terrible place!

The location is very bad, I don't feel safe when drove there.
The room smelled bad, not clean, even may have bedbugs.
I won't recommend anyone stay there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I love this Mom and Pop owned hotel. It's a little old and out of date but the friendly service and clean rooms are great for the price. We usually spend between 65 to 80 bucks for 4 of us to stay one night. Owner is really friendly and understanding that we come here just to party!

Rooms are hit or miss, some or nicer then other some leave a lot more to be desired. We've been coming here 3 years in a row! Always great service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knights Inn Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Santa Cruz

Address: 510 Liebrandt Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Santa Cruz 1.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Knights Inn Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Knights Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Santa Cruz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.