We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great califonia burger fries and milkshake!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodies

Woodies
Santa Cruz Wharf, Santa Cruz, CA 95067
831-421-9410
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 287 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Natural Bridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great califonia burger fries and milkshake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stopped by visiting the wharf. Burger was huge and plate of skinny fries were great! Milkshake to top it off was good. Well worth the stop!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    18
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tamarac, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food but WOW service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

As good as the food was, the service was even better. Didn't expect this from a restaurant on a tourist wharf. The food was very good...had a fried shrimp lunch and my husband had soup in a bread bowl. the soup wasn't quite hot enough and my husband asked them to just microwave it for a minute, the manager came over and said they don't use microwaves AT ALL...he would get a hot soup. The food was great, the view was amazing...ate and watched the dolphins play!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Reasonably Priced and Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Within walking distance from the boardwalk and half way up the wharf you will find an unassuming little restaurant with a killer view of the ocean and even better food. You walk in, order your food and pick it up at the counter when they buzz you. That said...the décor is fresh, clean, and welcoming. The staff worked hard to make sure you were happy. They were constantly cleaning up and wiping down the tables and seats. Very friendly and helpful.

As for the food, we ordered a tri-tip steak sandwich with fried onions and cheese (US$10.95) including fries. The portions were more than filling and so delicious, I must confess to being a little piggy and eating the whole sandwich!! We also ordered their onion strings (US$3.95). We asked for ranch dressing to dip them in and the staff promptly dished some up for us. These onion strings could get addictive they were so tasty.

All in all, we hated to leave. It was reasonably priced restaurant, we were sitting next to the windows with a lovely view of the ocean and nearby beach, and it was such a laid back atmosphere that we hated to leave. It is a relatively new restaurant, so give it a try really soon!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Calif
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food & ocean views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Love this place as it is set up like Sonoma Chicken Coop whereas you order at counter and pick up at counter. The cost of the food here is reasonable and the atmoshere is nice. This is a family restaurant that is owned by same owner as Firefish which is attached. We have brought family and friends here to eat lunch and dinner and have found the food to be pretty good. I love the crab melt that is usually on special. The clam chowder is ok and flavor varies at times. You self serve your soft drinks and can buy beer, wine & cocktails. I highly recommend you try it for yourself!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Exactly what we wanted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

My fiancée had a hankering for some clam chowder and while there are a lot of restaurants on and about Santa Cruz that would serve it he didn't want a sit down restaurant. Woodies had everything we could have wanted. A great atmosphere, friendly staff, and great food. He had his chowder, and calamari while I had the Aloha Salmon and it was delicious! The fish was very moist and not dry. We liked that it was a dining experience determined by our own time instead of the wait staff. Highly recommend!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodies also viewed

 

Been to Woodies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.