We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay in Santa Cruz” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Santa Cruz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Santa Cruz to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz
1505 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Santa Clarita
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice stay in Santa Cruz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Place was clean and rooms were nice. Completely opposite of the last place i stayed. Will use Hampton Inn again.
On the other hand Tripadvisors programs is a pain in the !!! Sometimes less is more and having to write a bunch of crap just for the sake of filling out 200 = words is annoying. There hopefully the review at the start will be enough for the travelers.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators and outside rooms by the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thanks so much for your feedback! We're really glad that you liked the hotel and very much hope that you'll be back to stay with us again. And since this response is not required to be 200 words I will leave it at that! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    152
    52
    26
    14
See reviews for
150
110
22
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Washington
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We chose this hotel because it had reasonably good ratings and we are Hilton Honor members. It is easy to find, just off Hwy 1. We had booked a 2 queen room because it was the least expensive, but asked for an upgrade when we checked in and were given a very comfortable King room.

The desk clerk was most helpful in recommending a couple of restaurants on the wharf for dinner and gave us a map with detailed directions. There really doesn't seem to be much within walking distance of the hotel except a Dennys and several other hotels.

Very good breakfast offerings. Basically what we have come to expect from a Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We're so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay! Thanks so much for taking the time to write and let us know. We hope that you will be back to stay with us again next time you're in Santa Cruz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Good experience. I stay at Hampton quite frequently and there were no surprises to what I would deem as normal.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. We were frequently asked if everything was satisfactory. This may be because we had just stayed at a Hampton the night before free because we were unhappy.
Regardless, I would use that hotel again.
Pool was real small, no hot tube

Room Tip: This is a small location. Avoid the lower floor simply because they open directly into the breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We're so glad to hear that the hotel worked out so well for you, and would be delighted to have you come back and stay again. Thanks for letting us know! Hope to see you on a return visit to Santa Cruz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garden city
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Super clean little Hampton as usual. The same breakfast fare as usual. Same friendly, helpful staff and same comfortable room - BUT....... make sure when you book your room you don't get one of the 4 that open right up to the breakfast area. They couldn't even turn the volume on for the tv cuz there were people sleeping just steps away. Located in a very pretty atrium, the breakfast area was open (with no hallway in between) to several guest rooms on the bottom floor and on the second and third floors to other rooms. When those guest came out of their rooms they were in plain sight of all eating breakfast. Some guy even leaned over the railing on the second floor and held a conversation with some one in the dining area. Also the elevator sits uncommonly close to guest rooms ending in 05. I'm just saying so that you can be informed when you book your room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thanks so much for your review, we appreciate your comments.

Regarding the design of the hotel - I'm very sorry to hear that the proximity of the breakfast area to your room was a problem during your stay. We have actually just begun a renovation to the lobby/breakfast area which we hope will alleviate any problems in this area, as we are incorporating some dividers into the breakfast area design. And we think that the new furnishings are going to look really nice, too! Hopefully you'll be able to come stay with us again and let us know what you think.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I arrived after dark for a work trip and was pleasantly surprised with the detailed information and directions when asking for a place to have dinner. Checking out the following morning I had another pleasant exchange with the morning personnel for directions to the university.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We're so glad to hear that your stay went so well, and that our front desk staff was able to help you with directions, etc. Thanks so much for letting us know, we hope that you will be our guest again sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf bay area
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was consistent with other Hampton Inn's that we have stayed at. It had a comfortable room with wifi and a decent breakfast. It is right off Hwys 17 and 1 so don't come zooming off too fast. It's easy to get onto Hwy 1 whether you going north or south (although the signage is initially a little confusing).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Glad to hear that you liked your room and breakfast, and thank you for letting us know. I agree, while the freeway is very easy to get to the signage can be rather confusing. Please ask for help at the Front Desk!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

what I expect of the Hampton Inn brand; clean, comfortable, well-equipped room with interior access; mini refrigerator; bathroom with tub/shower; a three-story hotel at the eastern edge of Santa Cruz near Rte. 17; elevator; friendly and helpful staff; off-street parking with plenty of nearby dining choices; pier area and downtown Santa Cruz a short drive; don’t miss nearby Capitola; fairly priced; recommended

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much! We're very glad that you enjoyed the hotel and appreciate your comments. Hope that you will be back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Santa Cruz

Address: 1505 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, a captivating California coast hotel. Treat yourself to our lovely retreat located near everything you'd ever need to make your visit the best it can be. Delight in superb sandy beaches, fascinating local history, out-of-this-world attractions and exceptionally fine dining. Experience a veritable vacation paradise in Santa Cruz. Our hospitable hotel puts you in perfect proximity to the beach, boardwalk and dozens of amazing attractions less than 2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Santa Cruz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.