We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and a good time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Betty's Burgers

Betty's Burgers
1000 41st Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95062
+1 831-475-5901
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 328 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Fast Food, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Our delicious burgers are made with fresh, all-natural beef with NO hormones and NO antibiotics. Local vegetables are delivered fresh daily.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value and a good time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great classic burgers, shakes and fries make Betty's a cool place to have a bite. Classic rock and interesting interiors make all three Betty's in Santa Cruz, Capitola and Downtown fun. Restaurant is clean, food is generous and fresh.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    21
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Meh every other time...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Been here a few times and it gets worse every other time. Inconsistent burgers. I liked the salmon burger but after eating it over on 41st... um never again!!! Afraid to eat it again here... The Texas 2-step is my go-to and the last time I had it, the burger itself was overcooked and it just didn't taste all that great. I always call it in and pick up to go, so they weren't busy. You'd think a burger place would be perfect if that's the only thing they make...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great burger place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I got the Basic Betty, Bareback & it was great!!! Along w/the sweet potato fries!! Awesome!! The staff was really nice! I went on my bday, & they even gave me an icecream! I'd totally go back!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Restaurant with a good story, not bad food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had high expectations for this place, for some reason. In her story, she does tout her burgers as being "damn good." I don't remember them being any better than a lot of burgers, but they weren't bad. I do remember that I was a bit surprised by the prices.

I did like the feel of the place - casual, retro, good for families. I liked that the story was written in the menus - it was an interesting one that felt very Californian.

Anyway, overall, it wasn't a bad place to go - we were hungry and were deciding between burgers and pizza. We went with burgers!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Terrible Place to go!! Horrible Prices for Crappy food!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Save yourself the time and money and make a burger at home. I promise you it will be way tastier. We have tried this place so many different times and we still come to the same and final conclusion that they just suck. everything is way way over priced and its flavorless cardboard box food with absolutely nothing delicious on the menu. We recommend you save your a bad experience and go to jack in the box or somewhere like Santa Cruz Dinner or Hindquarter for a good burger. =)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Betty's Burgers also viewed

 

Been to Betty's Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Betty's Burgers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.