We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only I wasn't vegan...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Penny Ice Creamery

The Penny Ice Creamery
913 Cedar St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-3801
831-204-2523
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 329 restaurants in Santa Cruz
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Ice Cream
Berkeley, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“If only I wasn't vegan...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Ahhh I loved this place when I when I still ate ice cream. The flavors are fresh, different and made with quality ingredients. They don't care how many flavors you ask to try and serve you tastes on cute little spoons (eco-friendly)! Prices aren't bad considering how delicious the ice cream is. The people there are always super friendly, welcoming and patient while you try all of the flavors.

The only downside to Penny is that it's a bit too small for the amount of people that are always pushing to get in!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    51
    16
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hmmm...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I thought this place was cute, it had a long line which is usually a good sign. However, the ice cream flavors were almost too weird to be good. The ice cream had a strange consistency and left a funny aftertaste and feeling my mouth, almost as if I'd eaten butter. I don't think I want to give it another try. Also, it wasn't cheap, and there was hardly anywhere to sit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best pumpkin ice cream ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

There should be a line out the door here, even on cold days. This ice cream is perfect. The roasted pumpkin has the perfect hint of sweetness. Go to the kiosk on the main drag downtown or the shop one block away from the main street. There are different flavors at the kiosk and store - check out both!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Scream for Ice Cream!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Love all the different flavors of ice cream which constantly change. They have homemade waffle cones which are really good. Ice cream is always fresh and they give free taste samples. The shop is small so it's best to get it to go.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Simply The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

It has the best ice cream, the best sauces and the best staff. It is an independent shop with a separate kiosk on Santa Cruz' main drag. They have an ever changing list of flavors which you can taste. What more could you ask for?

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Penny Ice Creamery also viewed

 

Been to The Penny Ice Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Penny Ice Creamery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.