We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel with the limited parking space” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Islander Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Islander Motel to your Saves list
The Islander Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   522 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Centereach, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A good hotel with the limited parking space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We spent a night at this motel. It has an excellent location, in downtown of Santa Cruz. Very clean, with very friendly staff. It has a very limited selection of items for breakfast in the very small area. The biggest problem was a limited parking space. I will recommend this motel to everyone who should spend a night in a comfortable and affordable motel right in the middle of the beach resort.

Room Tip: It is a very good motel with the very limited parking space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    53
    22
    11
    5
See reviews for
34
50
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, Usa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The office looked like it had been recently updated, the clerk was polite and offered the wi-fi code without us having to ask. Our room was up stairs, small but sufficient. It was clean, the mattresses were comfy but the pillows were really flat, wished I had brought my own. The room had a mini fridge and microwave. We chose not to have the free breakfast but my husband looked it over when checking out and said it actually looked pretty good for being served in such a tiny space. I would go there again for a one night stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komoka
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Room was ok but nothing special. Breakfast choice very small and no where to eat it, it really is just a bowl of cereal and a drink. Parking was ok, but I can see how some may have struggled here, as we were 2 days at the beginning of a week.

Overall Santa Cruz generally is a little disappointing. Carmel just about 20 mins away is much much nicer.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I stayed here this past week with my three kids, two of whom are teenagers. The room was comfy, if a bit tight, with two queen beds, a mini-fridge, and microwave. I originally booked a room with a king and double bed combination (a mini-suite of sorts), but was told those rooms don't have the fridge/micro and with three kids we really need those! But the room served us well.

The A/C worked well, as did the shower, etc. There wasn't a coffee maker in the room, but there was free coffee in the lobby, as well as a sparse breakfast of toast or cereal. Not a lot, but free, so nothing to complain about. The rates for the room were reasonable, as well, considering the time of year.

My kids loved the pool, which was heated. It's a bit on the old side, needs to be redone -- especially the area around the pool, which was actually a bit painful to walk on due to the pebble-like surface coming loose.

The location was convenient. It's a short drive to the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, which was the main draw for my kids, naturally. We parked in the $12 lot, which was expensive, but still cheaper than staying in a motel within walking distance.

The staff at the motel was very friendly and helpful! My son dropped our room key behind the stairs and we could not reach it. The woman working in the front office got a broom and swept it out for us. Ha! She was very nice about it.

Parking is a little tricky. It's a small motel (which appealed to me, actually) and there aren't a lot of parking spaces. Six are in a small "garage," but it's hard to maneuver in there. One night we came back very late and there were two spaces in the garage, both next to the wall. Unfortunately, one car had parked slightly over the line so I couldn't fit there. The other space was next to a very large truck that stuck out so much I couldn't maneuver around it, either! The only other space left was in the main lot, in front of the dumpster, which had a sign that said, "No parking, do not block." I had no choice, however, and just hoped for the best. It worked out fine, thankfully.

But, yes, clean and comfortable room. Peace and quiet. Reasonable price and friendly staff. Coffee and small breakfast. Close to everything. I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: If you need a room with a fridge and microwave, choose the rooms that have two queen beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The room was very dark and small. We almost had to crawl over each other. The room seemed clean.
The air conditioning was very loud. The bathroom, very small also, was not well maintained. There were patched, not sanded and painted over, holes on door and walls. The breakfast was very sparse, in comparison to other comparable motels that I have stayed in. Parking on site is not enough, come early or you'll park on the street. Location is good. Owners were friendly and responsive when I asked for a air freshner for the bathroom. All in all, I don't think that this was a good value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Just returned from an overnighter after staying here. Hotel room was immaculate. Bathroom immaculate. About a 15 to 20 minute walk to Boardwalk and Seabright State Beach. Five minute drive to downtown, farmers market, shops and restaurants. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is a decent place to stay. The free breakfast was an unexpected treat for a motel and it was simple but really nice to set you up for the day (cereal, toast, OJ and coffee). The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the Boardwalk which we didn't mind but may be too far for some people. The room was clean and the area was quiet. It was a pleasant two-night stay and I would recommend this place to others. However, don't come for the swimming pool though - it's tiny, right by the road and appears to be in the shade all day!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islander Motel

Address: 522 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Islander Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cleans and Comfortable, AAA 2 Diamond rated, 2 story with 22 guest rooms that include, 32" flat Screen LCD-HD TV Withe Remote, complimentary continental breakfast, Free Local Calls, All rooms have phone, Free WiFi. High speed Internet access in Room hairdryers. Some rooms with Micro fridges. Free parking, Seasonally heated pool and electronic door locks for your security. Located approximately 1 mile from the world famous Santa Cruz Beach and Boardwalk. We are within walking distance to Downtown Santa Cruz, numerous nightclubs, theaters and shopping at Pacific Garden Mall. Roaring camp, Mystery Spot, The University of California Santa Cruz, the Museum of Art and History and Pasatiempo Golf Course are all nearby. We look forward to making your stay with us the Best Value in Santa Cruz. Sorry No Pets.One car per Room.Parking is limited. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Islander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Islander Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.