We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Islander Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Islander Motel to your Saves list
The Islander Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   522 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“No complaints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed in the Islander for 1 night after driving up the Pacific Coast Highway. We got a special rate of $60 for a king room for the night and thought this was excellent value for money. There is adequate parking, some of which is under cover. Our room was a decent size, clean and had a large fridge. The motel is a short walk to restaurants and not too far away from the boardwalk (approx 15-20min walk). There was complimentary toast and cereal available in reception in the morning. The only real complaint was that it is on a busy road and there was quite a lot of traffic noise, however this didn't particularly disturb our sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    55
    23
    11
    5
See reviews for
34
53
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

First the positives....decent price...parking OK...great bathroom...good lighting...shampoo and lotion supplied...great location about 1 mile from the water...good bed...lots of TV stations....average size room....nice clerk. The biggest negative was a small cathode ray tube that Motel 6 would love to have because most of their rooms have the same type. It is located on a busy street (Ocean) so there was quite a bit of traffic even at night. I used my old trick of keeping the air conditioner running not so much to cool the room but to provide "white noise" to drown out the vehicles nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

A room was well sized. Beds are good. Everything looked clean.
I experienced lack of fresh air and some in unpleasure smell.
There are many other motels on this street. For me it was noisy inside during the night.

Resume: it is good, but as for me overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night and could not have stayed any longer. The room was clean and comfortable but the area outside the room was noisy with people talking loudly and slamming doors at all hours plus a lot of vehicle noise. If you are travelling down the coast, stay in Carmel rather than Santa Cruz, as it is a much nicer town.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We chose this motel for its price and were pleasantly surprised at what a good value it was. The check in process was quick and efficient. We had a clean and comfortable room on the second floor. We opened the window to cool the room a bit. Once the window was closed, we couldn't hear a thing from the rooms next to us or from the traffic. The king sized bed was comfortable. The bathroom was spotless. The water pressure in the shower was great, and the water stayed hot for both of us. The amenities included shampoo, conditioner, and two bars of soap. The refrigerator was larger than the one we had in higher ranked accommodations. The furnishings looked a bit worn, but solid. Care is obviously taken in keeping up the rooms. We didn't use the pool, which is across the parking lot and visible from the rooms, but there is a wall that shields it from the street. The check out process was smooth, and the Islander has the cutest little front desk clerk I have ever seen!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

By reading other reviews, we obviously were charged much more. We paid $146 for our king bed room which was clean with a comfortable bed but lumpy pillows. We stayed on a Saturday night and the noise was unbelievablely bad. Shouting from other rooms, doors banging, and traffic passing made it difficult to get any sleep, The staff appeared disinterested and the breakfast was very basic and poor. If you want a good night's sleep, don't stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were in Santa Cruz for one night for a wedding and this was a good choice. Everything was as expected from other 4-dot Trip Advisor Reviews. It is older, well kept, clean, and comfortable. The staff was welcoming and helpful. The king bed filled the room so I would not recommend that for families because there isn't a lot of room for all the kid paraphernalia. The motel is on a very busy boulevard that is noisy during the day but I didn't hear anything at night. No iron in the room. There is No Coffee Pot in the room, and the very light continental breakfast isn't open until 7:30 but thank goodness because that means you can discover Fins Coffee up the street which is worth the trip to Santa Cruz in itself. Many Europeans in residence made the experience a little more interesting. If you are on a budget, stay here, you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Probably less foot traffic around second story rooms since the parking lot is right out the door of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islander Motel

Address: 522 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Islander Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cleans and Comfortable, AAA 2 Diamond rated, 2 story with 22 guest rooms that include, 32" flat Screen LCD-HD TV Withe Remote, complimentary continental breakfast, Free Local Calls, All rooms have phone, Free WiFi. High speed Internet access in Room hairdryers. Some rooms with Micro fridges. Free parking, Seasonally heated pool and electronic door locks for your security. Located approximately 1 mile from the world famous Santa Cruz Beach and Boardwalk. We are within walking distance to Downtown Santa Cruz, numerous nightclubs, theaters and shopping at Pacific Garden Mall. Roaring camp, Mystery Spot, The University of California Santa Cruz, the Museum of Art and History and Pasatiempo Golf Course are all nearby. We look forward to making your stay with us the Best Value in Santa Cruz. Sorry No Pets.One car per Room.Parking is limited. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Islander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Islander Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.