We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, good value, very helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Islander Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Islander Motel to your Saves list
The Islander Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   522 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Best Rates
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, good value, very helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My elderly mother and I were travelling, and stayed here based on TripAdvisor. We initially requested two rooms. When I mentioned my mother, the volunteered that they had a single room on the ground floor (no stairs for her that way) with two bedrooms that we might like, and it cost less than two rooms. We took that room and it was perfect. They lost money on that suggestion, which I think says a lot about their focus on the customer first.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

property was clean. room was clean. no funny smells. everything looked as if it was being taken care of. good price for the stay and staff was very friendly and accommodating to our late night arrival. Would stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sirilo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
261 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This motel is exactly what we were after: a value-for-money place to stay that was reasonably central, clean, comfortable but still well-priced so no need to be fancy.

The owners do a great job and the service they and their staff provide is excellent. The rooms are sizeable and well cleaned, with very comfortable beds and pillows. There were several nice touches that were somewhat unexpected in this price range, such as a large welcome bottle of fresh water, free bathroom amenities, and shower water pressure that puts some expensive hotels to shame.

Our only slight criticism was a somewhat unpleasant odour from the bed cover in our room, which needed a clean. However many motels suffer from this and in context this was a minor inconvenience.

We would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: If you decide not to take up the free motel breakfast, we highly recommend the brilliant Cafe Brasil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WH0A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean, bed was huge! The sttaff was polite. Didn't stay long, quick drive to boardwalk. Walk if had more time. Trip advisor discount helped. Extra pillows in room. Refrigerator in room. Lamps on both sides of bed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ireneiscooler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Good price, easy walk downtown, very clean. Simple room worth the price. AC drowned out the road noise. I accidently left my glasses on the bedside table after checkout. Staff went above and beyond delivering them to a UPS office to mail them back to me. I am greatly appreciative!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrw264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munaf s, Manager at The Islander Motel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

we booked a friday, saturday stay there and it was great. clean rooms with decent shower, bath. Some noise from the road but nothing insane. noise depends on your neighbors and their behavior as usual when staying somewhere.
About a fifteen min walk to boardwalk and near to Pacific avenue and all its variety and life. We were relaxed and pleased with the Islander and will stay there again when visiting Santa Cruz.
Tip for breakfast, go up Soquel ave to the Buttery for breakfast and sooper cakes and amazing coffee. About ten mins walk up the hill left out of Ocean street.

Room Tip: upstairs was peaceful, no stomping from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Me and my friends stayed here for one night in mid Feb. We turned up at around 8pm one evening and enquired about the room rates - we paid less then $50 between three of us for the night. The motel manager was very friendly and helpful when checking in with them.

The room was spotless and in good condition. The bathroom was also very clean and obviously fairly recently furbished. There were towels and soaps provided. There is a fridge in the room too. There is a good wifi service in the rooms - good enough to FaceTime/Skype on at least.

There is a breakfast included with the rooms - you have to go down to the reception area to pick it up and take it back to your room. It's very basic (cereal, toast, coffee and juice), but serves its purpose and is good really for the amount we paid for the room.

The motel is about a 5 minute walk from the busiest part of town, and about a 20 minute walk from the beach.

We were also allowed to park out car there for the rest of the day after checkout. There is an undercover parking are too should it be required.

I recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to stay in the heart of Santa Cruz on a budget, who wants a clean and reliable place.

Room Tip: always try for a 1st floor room to minimise noise from cars or people passing the ground floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bertiebiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#27 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox
Hotel Paradox
#10 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islander Motel

Address: 522 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — The Islander Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cleans and Comfortable,2 story with 22 guest rooms that include, 32" flat Screen LCD-HD TV Withe Remote, complimentary continental breakfast, Free Local Calls, All rooms have phone, Free WiFi. High speed Internet access in Room hairdryers. All rooms with Micro fridges. Free parking, Seasonally heated pool and electronic door locks for your security. Located approximately 1 mile from the world famous Santa Cruz Beach and Boardwalk. We are within walking distance to Downtown Santa Cruz, numerous nightclubs, theaters and shopping at Pacific Garden Mall. Roaring camp, Mystery Spot, The University of California Santa Cruz, the Museum of Art and History and Pasatiempo Golf Course are all nearby. We look forward to making your stay with us the Best Value in Santa Cruz. Sorry No Pets.One car per Room.Parking is limited. Deposited Required. Extra Person $15.00 Per Person No Extra Beds or Crib . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your The Islander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing