We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Motel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Islander Motel

Save Saved
You added The Islander Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Islander Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   522 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Complimentary WiFi
Ranked #23 of 52 hotels in Santa Cruz
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Motel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Me and my friends stayed here for one night in mid Feb. We turned up at around 8pm one evening and enquired about the room rates - we paid less then $50 between three of us for the night. The motel manager was very friendly and helpful when checking in with them.

The room was spotless and in good condition. The bathroom was also very clean and obviously fairly recently furbished. There were towels and soaps provided. There is a fridge in the room too. There is a good wifi service in the rooms - good enough to FaceTime/Skype on at least.

There is a breakfast included with the rooms - you have to go down to the reception area to pick it up and take it back to your room. It's very basic (cereal, toast, coffee and juice), but serves its purpose and is good really for the amount we paid for the room.

The motel is about a 5 minute walk from the busiest part of town, and about a 20 minute walk from the beach.

We were also allowed to park out car there for the rest of the day after checkout. There is an undercover parking are too should it be required.

I recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to stay in the heart of Santa Cruz on a budget, who wants a clean and reliable place.

Room Tip: always try for a 1st floor room to minimise noise from cars or people passing the ground floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    51
    21
    11
    5
See reviews for
34
49
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vallejo, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at this Motel. The Staff was very friendly and willing to help. Also the
Breakfast was nice!
I had a wonderful stay at this Motel. The Staff was very friendly and willing to help. Also the
Breakfast was nice!
I had a wonderful stay at this Motel. The Staff was very friendly and willing to help. Also the
Breakfast was nice!
I had a wonderful stay at this Motel. The Staff was very friendly and willing to help. Also the
Breakfast was nice!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

After staying here recently, the Islander has won us over as our future Santa Cruz "go to" accomodation. Our son attends UCSC and, although we live within a couple of hours, sometimes it's nice to not have to drive home after an evening event. We discovered that the location of the Islander is great, the room was spotless (I checked the corners in the bathroom!) and well-tended, it was cozy and the bed comfortable. The price is remarkable for such amenities. And Managers Munaf and Rose are lovely. We look forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Really clean rooms great rates and really sweet staff.Would recommend to families.This was our first time to the area and was welcomed with open arms at this sweet little motel. It is right in the center of everything walking distance to most attractions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munaf s, Manager at The Islander Motel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Management representative



Thank you so much for taking the time to write!! So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed there for 1 night. The room was small and cozy but had a king size bed. To me it seemed like the building had been updated. Windows and countertops seemed new. Bed and showers were very clean.
Free parking
Free Internet
Free continental breakfast: cereal, oatmeal, bananas, milk, orange juice and coffee
Surrounded by restaurants but may I suggest "the Greek" about a mile away. Try the lamb
Great overall value, would stay again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munaf s, Manager at The Islander Motel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Management representative



Thank you so much for taking the time to write!! So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This property is basic and somewhat dated. The price was right, but it is located on a major road (Ocean Blvd.) so there was quite a bit of road noise. It was centrally located and within walking distance to the Boardwalk, the Wharf and downtown, had we been so inclined. The room was clean with a refrigerator and microwave.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

And inexpensive. Plus a very nice boss lady who will invite you back if you've been nice yourself. Our room was tight and comfortable with a king bed. A small fridge with a small microwave oven on top of it sat in one corner, pretty handy for a resort area with its numerous and often expensive restaurants. A light breakfast is provided in the lobby. Two wireless connections. Take Ocean Street south across Soquel and you'll arrive at the Boardwalk.

Room Tip: We liked room 134.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munaf s, Manager at The Islander Motel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Management representative



Thank you so much for taking the time to write!! So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islander Motel

Address: 522 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 52 hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Islander Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cleans and Comfortable, AAA 2 Diamond rated, 2 story with 22 guest rooms that include, 32" flat Screen LCD-HD TV Withe Remote, complimentary continental breakfast, Free Local Calls, All rooms have phone, Free WiFi. High speed Internet access in Room hairdryers. Some rooms with Micro fridges. Free parking, Seasonally heated pool and electronic door locks for your security. Located approximately 1 mile from the world famous Santa Cruz Beach and Boardwalk. We are within walking distance to Downtown Santa Cruz, numerous nightclubs, theaters and shopping at Pacific Garden Mall. Roaring camp, Mystery Spot, The University of California Santa Cruz, the Museum of Art and History and Pasatiempo Golf Course are all nearby. We look forward to making your stay with us the Best Value in Santa Cruz. Sorry No Pets.One car per Room.Parking is limited. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Islander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Islander Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.