We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Mission Inn to your Saves list
Mission Inn
2250 Mission Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Dunoon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Nice place, very helpful and friendly staff.

The location was ideal for us and room had everything we required. Room was clean with a comfortable bed.

Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Also has Safeway right across street.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    60
    21
    3
    3
See reviews for
48
39
11
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san marcos
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My family and I were in Santa Cruz for our daughters graduation and had the pleasant experience of staying at the Mission Inn. The room was great, the free breakfast had something for everyone and the location was perfect for going downtown and getting to the UCSC campus.
More importantly, the staff was beyond excellent!! We had car trouble and ended up staying 2 extra days and they went out of their way to accomodate us, even so far as giving us a ride to the mechanics. We would gladly stay there again and highly recommend the Mission Inn.
Jennifer Mc

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. The room was clean but in need of some updating, if you're looking for a newer place to stay, this isn't for you. If you're like us and just need a home base and somewhere to sleep this place is perfect. Even though it is off a very busy road, the room was incredibly quiet. The bed was very comfortable and we slept really well. The free breakfast isn't much to write home about, but it certainly does the job: bagels, English muffins, oatmeal, cereal, coffee and some fruit. We were within a few minutes drive to Cowell Beach, where we learned to surf at Club Ed (definitely check them out!), the boardwalk, the Mystery Spot, and a few hiking trails. There's a Safeway just down the block and a lot of restaurants in the area. BUT: DO NOT go to the Thai restaurant that shares a parking lot with the Mission Inn. We went there because we were starving and immediately regretted it. We ordered an appetizer off the specials menu and it was still frozen when they brought it out to us. Also, everything we had was definitely not fresh and clearly recooked in the microwave (chef mic). Other than that, enjoy your stay, the Mission Inn is great!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I had the need to go to Santa Cruz when my daughter needed her appendix removed suddenly. Since it was graduation weekend, the hotels where we usually stay (she's a student at UCSC) were booked or had outrageous rates. I found this little hotel via trip advisor, which is located in a quiet area of town close to Natural Bridges beach, and enjoyed my three night stay very much. The room was clean and comfortable with a large sized mini fridge and a microwave. The air conditioner was loud every time it came on, but worked great and kept the room cool all night. I'd gladly take the noise over a warm room. The breakfast room is a nice addition, especially for the room rate, and the coffee is good. The breakfast offerings are not fancy, but adequate if you are not a heavy morning eater. French Bakery is around the corner if you prefer a heartier morning meal--we ate lunch there one day and it's a fabulous place with great food and outdoor seating.

The people at the hotel's front desk were always pleasant and helpful, and really seemed to care if you enjoyed your stay. There is also a Thai restaurant right next to the hotel with good food and nice atmosphere. And Safeway is a two minute drive or five minute walk if you want to stock the fridge in the room with water or other items. So overall, this is a fine place to stay if the view inns are booked, or if you want to save money on a fancier hotel in a more central location. I'm giving five stars because it fits the bill of what is represented on the website, and for that fact that I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This place is right off California 1. The rooms are entry from the parking lot. It reminds me of a Holiday Inn, but it is like new and has been redecorated recently. The bed was comfortable. The room was immaculate. It's probably the best value hotel I've stayed in this year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUSTON
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Liked it a lot!! Very roomy:)) it was close to the airport and very accessible to the shopping centers so I thought that was very convenient. It's a great place to stay when u are visiting California. I loved it!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This motel is a nice one, I always loved staying here. The staff is super kind and friendly, and keeps to themselves, there not all noisy. lol and the rooms are always large and very clean. Never ever had a bad experience here; and I have stayed here many times, in many different rooms they have available. It's a great location too. Plus, they have all different kinds of rooms, ones with two whole rooms in one, like with a door separator and one bed, and regular two beds, they have mini fridge in some rooms, with ice buckets. they have jacuzzi tubs in the bathrooms in a couple of the rooms, they all have tv, a couple have microwave too. they all have working heater and a/c and fan. very peaceful stay here everytime I've ever stayed here. I mean it kinda nice, have peace and quiet and no people just running around the halls and outside running amuck everywhere like at some motels in the county. I would definitely recommend this motel to anyone and everyone coming to stay for a visit, or even locals too. And they have a pool and hot tub too. =)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Inn

Address: 2250 Mission Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
53 spacious and accommodating guest rooms include in-room coffee, complimentary continental breakfast, cable TV, HBO, air conditioning and high speed internet. Most rooms have refrigerators and microwaves. Closest hotel to UCSC. Only five minutes to the Santa Cruz Beach and Boardwalk, beaches, downtown and several restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Hotel Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.