We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Inn

Save Saved
You added Mission Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com
Mission Inn
2250 Mission Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 51 hotels in Santa Cruz
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“great little spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel at the recommendation of a colleague and enjoyed it. It is a very basic motel (doors open to the outside) but the property was very clean and comfortable, and touches like breakfast and free wifi were great. It was far cheaper than the other hotels in Santa Cruz and I would stay here again. The property received a certificate of excellence from Tripadvisor in 2012.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    46
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
36
30
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in February 2013. Our room (113) was very pleasant, the queen bed was comfortable, and everything was quite clean. WiFi worked well and the TV coverage was fine. Breakfast is basic but complete. There must be 25 restaurants within a short walk, we ate at two of them and they were good. Front office staff was helpful and friendly. The location is close to most everything in "metro" Santa Cruz. Close to the University, Boardwalk, Beach, and all necessary shopping.
Anyone who rates this place "average" must be incredibly picky.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was a very nice place to stay and the management was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and nice. It was a very convenient location, close to a lot of things. We really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night on our drive from Los Angeles to San Francisco. Staff were helpful at check in and the room was big and spotlessly clean. Excellent value for a comfortable bed for the night. The fridge and microwave in the room were a bonus.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here for two nights while taking our daughter to UCSC. Closest hotel to UCSC. I had asked for a quiet room in the back of the hotel and we got a room that was quiet, but not quite at the back of the hotel. It was okay, the room was clean and appropriately appointed for the star rating. . The free breakfast was free, and that is about what it was worth. The breakfast room was crowded and really too small for the amount of people it is meant to accommodate. I'd stay here again because it was much less expensive than the Holiday Inn where we'd stayed before in Santa Cruz and I'm willing to go out for a decent breakfast elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back to avoid the noise of Mission Street and go out for a decent breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We went to orientation for UCSC.. First the great news is that the hotel is the closest to the school. Staff is very friendly.
The mattresses in the room were extremely uncomfortable and you could feel the springs. Hard to sleep, and for that reason alone we would not return,
The hotel offered breakfast, although we did not stay, so cannot review.
The Mission Inn is very clean, and there is a nice larger bathroom..
Overall, reminded me of a Motel 6,but very clean.

Room Tip: If you need a good sleep with a great mattress, choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We go to Santa Cruz every few months and it is the first time we stay at this Inn.
Our room was quiet and reasonably adequate in space and we did sleep well.
We would have given it more stars, were it not for a remarkably ill-mannered front desk person, who refused to to give any attention to an elderly person who had a sort of emergency to solve, although it would have taken her one minute to do so.
I must add, for honesty, that the other desk personnel the next day were perfectly amiable and kind.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Inn

Also Known As:
Mission Hotel
Mission Hotel Santa Cruz
Address: 2250 Mission Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
53 spacious and accommodating guest rooms include in-room coffee, complimentary continental breakfast, cable TV, HBO, air conditioning and high speed internet. Most rooms have refrigerators and microwaves. Closest hotel to UCSC. Only five minutes to the Santa Cruz Beach and Boardwalk, beaches, downtown and several restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.