We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Ocean View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aquarius - Dream Inn

Aquarius - Dream Inn
175 West Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
8314605012
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Aquarius - Dream Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 328 restaurants in Santa Cruz
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bay Street
Grass Valley, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Ocean View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Good food and good service. The deserts were fantastic. The Ocean View was wonderful. The restrooms were clean.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    47
    40
    16
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“+ Stunning ocean front view, + excellent Californian fare, + nice modern decor, - service needs some improvement”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My 3 companions and I were Aquarius first-timers and amazed by the view & decor. The salmon and beef we ordered were outstanding & we are still talking about our delicious dinner. Food & drinks are pricey but the Aquarius a top notch destination in SC.

However, our experience had some flaws: Our request for the free window table was denied and were told you cannot reserve them...just to find a second later that the empty window table was actually hold for a party of 4!!! Moreover, our waitress was very pushy but after we send her away twice since we didn't want to be rushed through the dinner she finally gave us enough time to enjoy the dinner. In summary: outstanding chef, below average service.

I highly recommend my followers the Aquarius Bar for Happy Hour (Sun-Thur 3:30-5:30pm) and their Wednesday 3-course prix fixe menu for $25.

+ stunning ocean front view,
+ excellent Californian fare,
+ nice modern decor,
- service needs some improvement

Average entrée: $25.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Valley, California
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Best Clam Chowder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great food, wonderful views, friendly and warm service. I think their clam chowder in the best in the area, and they have some of the best fish and chips. Great wine list.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Breakfast overlooking the ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The meal was excellent. Fast, friendly service...with a sense of humor. The portions were high quality and more food than either of us could eat. Coffee right at the table and a view that was worth enjoying.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The food is very good. The clam chowder is one of the best I have had. Great views of the beach and ocean. They have happy hour in the bar and appetizer specials.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquarius - Dream Inn also viewed

 

Been to Aquarius - Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquarius - Dream Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.