We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian Feast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Posta Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Posta Restaurant
538 Seabright Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95062-3421
831-457-2782
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Posta Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 328 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Murray
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Italian Feast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Parking (to the left of the building if you are facing the restaurant) is in the rear for free or on the street for a fee; service was OK and the food was very good. Check the menu before going as it can get eclectic and picky eaters will default to the 4 cheese pizza.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    22
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belmont
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fresh food at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

If you enjoy fresh, innovative Italian food in the Santa Cruz area, then you must dine at La Posta, on Seabright Ave. Amazingly fresh-tasting thin crust pizzas, good Italian wine, delightful desserts. A great little neighborhood gem. Best food in Santa Cruz. Tuesday evenings they have a great family special.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We chanced upon this place by accident on our way back from a day at Santa Cruz boardwalk. After a day of passing kiosks selling deep fried everything, this place was like a breath of fresh air. The menu on offer is not huge but then than that tells you that everything is freshly made. They made up a special pasta for my 8 year old as they didnt have a childrens menu. The food was the best Italian I have tasted in a long time. I had pasta with Nettles included in the ingredients. Fantastic!!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very Authentically Inventive Artisanal Italian Cuisine in a Charming Old World Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We were so pleasantly surprised here for an early dinner after a long afternoon on the beach. Wonderful Italian wine list with many by the glass. Lovage Papardella with Veal Ragu. Saffron Canalonni with Braised Lamb and Toasted Pine Nuts. Shaved Squash Salad. But the item that really impressed was the special pizza with sliced fresh black figs, fresh mozzarella, spec, saba & baby arugula. Terrific!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Favorite Santa Cruz Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We have been to La Posta quite a few times now and I can honestly say it is the best Santa Cruz has to offer. We've taken friends from the San Francisco area and they agree with us that it even holds up to restaurants in the City (and certainly less expensive). The food is not what I would call traditional Italian. There are pasta and pizza dishes which we love, but we usually order several appetizers to share and a main vegetarian or meat dish. We often get an additional vegetable dish only because they are all so good! Their bread is made there and is wonderful. The menu changes often and uses seasonal, local ingredients in inventive and fabulously delicious ways. I have not ever had any dish that didn't meet or exceed expectations. The portions are a good size and I even take home part of my main dish quite often. The atmosphere is also good. The decor is low key but interesting. It's in an old post office hence the name. There is a beautiful bar often with neighborhood folks hanging out and enjoying a drink and conversation. The wait staff have always been first class. Knowledgeable and attentive without being too much so. I honestly can't understand why anyone would not be pleased after a meal here unless they were expecting a lasagna, spaghetti and meat balls place which it is not. If you like fresh, inventive dishes with lots of taste that is not overdone or heavy, then you will enjoy this restaurant. Tip: Wednesday evenings are easiest to get a reservation at the last minute and there is parking behind the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Posta Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Posta Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posta Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.