We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel, unfriendly staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Pasatiempo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Pasatiempo to your Saves list
Inn at Pasatiempo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Highway 17, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-1812   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Modesto, CA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Old hotel, unfriendly staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

The staff was not welcoming at all and the room looked like it has not changed in 50 years. The internet connection was awfully slow. The breakfast was just old greasy costco donuts. Yuck! I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    62
    46
    26
    45
See reviews for
72
78
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
bay area california
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

My husband and I had our wedding reception here in August of 2004 and we were very happy with the impeccable dining room service. We had a small party of about 20 people and we rented a small private dining room that had access to the lovely terrace. Everything for me as a bride was handled properly, timely and professionally. This is an older property but that said, this means they have been doing weddings for a long time and have experience. The food was wonderful and my guests raved. We did a combination of appetizers from the wedding buffet menus along with ordering all entrees off the dinner menu. We even went overtime and told the staff we were willing to pay the additional per hour charge and they were happy to accomodate us. When I was married in 2004 I was 34 years old and this venue was perfect for us. Younger brides in the 20s may think this property is "old" but the service is impeccable - they know how to put on a reception. We also booked a block of rooms and the only complaint I would have is that there was no A/C and in August it was very warm.

  • Liked — professional reception service
  • Disliked — no air conditioning in the rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OAKLEY, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2007

I have been staying at the Inn for about 6 years now, we stay there several nights through out the year. I always try to stay in one of the suite's. It's has much more room and a fireplace, ref., cd player and a big livingroom area.
I have three children and we need the space. I have stayed with big groups of girls on girl trips, I have stayed at the Inn and brought other family's along and they have all really enjoyed there stay. When the kids are out of school, I sometimes come by myself with the kids. I love it there because I feel safe and at home. My little twins call it there other house. I have always been treated great by the staff. The room service and the food is great and I think a decent price. The grounds are very lovely and when everything is in bloom it just looks beautiful.

  • Liked — I love the garden area
  • Disliked — Need a Hot Tub in Pool Area
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los altos, ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

I discovered this gem years ago. Love the country setting (away from crowded downtown) yet so close and accessible. Unique and tastefully furnished rooms, always clean. Beautiful grounds! ! ! Adore the pool area especially, and it's warm enough to swim late in the evening (bath water!). The restaurant is unusually good, and very reasonable. Entire staff is gracious and friendly. I'll continue to stay here whenever I'm in Santa Cruz...

  • Liked — setting
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa Valley, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2007

We were totally let down. Not only was the decor just the same as it was 19 years ago. My husband was sitting in a chair that broke and he fell to the ground. Not only did the front desk help not even ask if he was ok, they told me the chairs were custom made for the Inn at the cost of $495.00 each and charged my credit card for it. How can a hotel room rate be $92.00 per night and they have chairs that cost that much? Not likely. This place is in despirate need of a make over including the beds (very uncomfortable.) Families not welcome. The entire staff was waiting in front of the Inn when we arrived and all were looking us over, very uncomfortable. Not welcoming.

  • Liked — Nothing like I remember, except the furniture.
  • Disliked — Unfair, Unfriendly, Uncaring, storie maker
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2007

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived since I had read the poor reviews. We were greeted by an extremely friendly staff at 11 am on a Sunday morning. Our rooms were not ready (check in is at 3 pm). We were immediately offered an upgrade which we declined as we needed to stay "connected" to our teenage sons. We checked in, left our bags in storage and returned later that evening. The rooms were clean although a bit worn around the edges, the beds were comfortable, and the dough nuts and coffee for breakfast were GREAT! When we checked out, we realized that on top of the very good service, our room was discounted below the price quoted by our travel agent. Would we stay there again...most likely. We would probably ask for a room away from the parking lot and a couple of extra pillows. I would say we got good value for our money spent.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Cali
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2007

We were a little worried after reading the very negative reviews posted here. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly by the desk gal. Our room was #301. It was in the back part of the building nearest the restaurant. The room was clean. It was samll, but thoughtfully furnished. The bathroom was adequate (shower only) for our needs. The queensize bed was comfortable. Nights were generally quiet, with a 5:30 a.m. garbage truck on Monday. Overall we felt the place was fine for the $80 price through AAA. Location is a bit out of town and you have to go through the very congested Hwy 17/Hwy 1 interchange every time you want to go into town. The morning light breakfast and coffee was fine.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Pasatiempo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Pasatiempo

Address: 555 Highway 17, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-1812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Pasatiempo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Pasatiempo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Pasatiempo Hotel Santa Cruz
Staybridge Suites Santa Cruz
Hotel At Pasatiempo
The Inn At Pasatiempo
Inn Pasatiempo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Pasatiempo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.