We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price, good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Pasatiempo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Pasatiempo to your Saves list
Inn at Pasatiempo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Highway 17, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-1812   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good for the price, good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in one of their suites, and we got a pretty good rate compared to other suites at other hotels. Although the room is a little outdated, it was very comfortable and clean. The fireplace was perfect to have since the weather was a bit chilly. They offer breakfast in the mornings which was average. Plus the location was good as it was only a few min. away from downtown SC, the De Leaveaga Golf and Disc Golf Course, and Aptos. I would stay here again, in a suite, the next time I am in the Santa Cruz area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    85
    59
    30
    46
See reviews for
97
96
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stood in basic double on lower level. The Inn is somewhat antiquated in a few ways. Outer walls are far from sound proof and the doors don't seal up well as I could feel draft from outside. Luckily the weather was good.
Bathroom has next to no counter space. Spacious shower, good mattress, usual super soft pillows. The location is good and easy to find, once you figure out where it is. I'm sure the Inn's location keeps it alive, especially next to the golf course. Upgrades in various areas could improve bookings, however probably not that feasible until the economy improves.

Room Tip: Probably a little less noise on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

First a few good points. The Inn has a great location for visiting anywhere in the area. Right off 17, a few hundred yards from Route 1. We stayed in a fireplace suite which had extremely plush and comfortable chair and sofa in the living room. It was clean and looked cute.

But, the bedroom furnishings were cheap, the night tables small and flimsy, the bed very bouncy (one could not turn over without waking one's partner.) The bathroom was cramped with little counter space, fit for one only, no separate toilet. No A/C, so left the window open for the pleasant night air, but also for the random noise. Awoken from a nap by the gardener right outside the window having a loud chat with someone. Breakfast is a crumby continental, hardly worth stopping for, and the coffee is not especially good. The room was over-priced.

Worst of all: we were there for a wedding, and when we were ready to shower and dress we found NO hot water. The desk wouldn't answer the phone on two tries. Then after a freezing wash-up, one body part at a time, we called again and heard that maintenance were working on it. As we were walking out of the room to get to the church, the front desk called and offered to let us shower in a room on the other side of the hotel that had hot water. Horrible. When we woke the next day to shower again for the trip home, the water was scarcely any better.

On checking out we mentioned the troubles with water, and they offered no relief from our 5 day room charges, saying the manager was not there, but they would call the manager for us if we wanted. Hope the manager bothers to read the reviews, but I doubt it. They don't seem to care about the plight of their customers.

Room Tip: Rooms in back are quieter. Get a suite if you can afford it, but better still, find somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The location of the Inn at Pasatiempo was ideal as we were playing golf right next door (which was fantastic), however the whole place felt rundown and in need of some TLC. There is no restaurant or bar currently on site and both rooms and public areas are dated and in need of refurbishment. The room was clean. The rooms are motel/ drive up style, and did not feel particularly secure. Our room was around the back, away from reception with a wooded area beyond the parking lot and I would not have felt happy to stay there on my own. Also there is no air conditioning in the rooms which could be problematic in summer. Overall, I would not recommend this to other travellers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This facility has no fitness center for road warriors that want to stay in shape. There is a golf course next to the property but run/walk at the risk of getting hit, so I ran along the streets of private homes. Breakfast was basic. Only protein I could find for breakfast were 2 hard boiled eggs. I had some leftover from the night before and was hoping to use a microwave to heat it up for breakfast, but the front desk told me that there was no microwave at all in the facility. I found it hard to believe. What would the staff use to heat up their lunches. I took a second look at the property sign and it read " Grill and Bar", but not even a microwave in the kitchen? Ok for just 1 night stay. Nice clean spacious room. The evening I arrive, the parking lot was quiet and empty, but I woke up in the morning hearing trucks, traffic (being next to park/ride), and people conversing in the parking lot. Good thing I was there for work and didn't need to sleep in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burney,Ca
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have stayed at this property two times now. I have mixed feelings about the place because it could be a great little place to stay. We love the location because it's close to our friends who live at Pasatiempo and near the city of Santa Cruz. But it is getting rundown. Our friends told us someone new took over about 9 months ago but I have not seen the improvements needed. First off, they say they offer a FULL breakfast on their website. This is not true unless you consider toast,bagels, some yogurt and very few choices of beverages, a full breakfast. The onsite bar a restaurant are closed. The website has said opening soon, but nothing seems to be getting done at all. The pool is closed for repairs I'm assuming since there were tarps covering some of the fence around it. It does need repair, but once again nothing on the website about that. Also, the parking lot is in terrible shape in many areas and needs immediate attention before someone trips and fall.
Now to the rooms. They are supposed to be French country but seem just to be blah. Other than the vaulted ceilings, they have no character. The walls seem like they are just painted over particle board and come off as dirty. There is no AC in the rooms. Granted, this area remains fairly cool. But unless you left the window open, the rooms would get alot warmer than the outside temp. So you had to make the choice of leaving the room vulnerable to break-in while you were out for the day, or come back to a hot room. The rooms were cleaned early which was great and housekeeping did a good job.
One more pet peeve of mine is making someone wait until check-in time to give them a room. We had driven 6 hours and arrived 1 hour before check-in at 3 p.m. The front desk told us there were no rooms ready and they would call us when they were. So after not receiving a call, we returned at 3 and were given our room. So I'm supposed to believe they cleaned every room in an hour and that they had just finished right as we walked in. Also, we asked which room we would be in, and they said they wouldn't know until we checked in. So when we returned I asked for a specific area that we liked and since we were the first people checking in I believed it wouldn't be an issue. We were told that all of those rooms had been reserved ahead of time and we should have called ahead. So an hour ago they had no idea what room we would get but they did know that those were going to be taken. They were not rude about it and in the end we were happy about the room location we received.
In summary I'm not sure we will stay here again unless they start improving and updating the inn some. It could be a great and affordable place to stay with a little work. I'm hoping it happens so we don't have to stay farther away next time.

Room Tip: Either get a room facing the pool/gardens or one on the north side facing the forest. The others all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

All in all, we shot a wonderfull deal with this place.
A very kind welcome, free room upgrade and nicely prepared rooms did its part.
Minor downsides for us were the soft beds and thin walls.
Besides that, it is worth a recommendation.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
2.6 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Paradox
Hotel Paradox
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 326 reviews
1.8 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Pasatiempo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Pasatiempo

Address: 555 Highway 17, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-1812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Pasatiempo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Pasatiempo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Pasatiempo Hotel Santa Cruz
Staybridge Suites Santa Cruz
Hotel At Pasatiempo
The Inn At Pasatiempo
Inn Pasatiempo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Pasatiempo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.