We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to be updated before it's too late.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Pasatiempo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Pasatiempo to your Saves list
Inn at Pasatiempo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Highway 17, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-1812   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Burney,Ca
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Needs to be updated before it's too late.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have stayed at this property two times now. I have mixed feelings about the place because it could be a great little place to stay. We love the location because it's close to our friends who live at Pasatiempo and near the city of Santa Cruz. But it is getting rundown. Our friends told us someone new took over about 9 months ago but I have not seen the improvements needed. First off, they say they offer a FULL breakfast on their website. This is not true unless you consider toast,bagels, some yogurt and very few choices of beverages, a full breakfast. The onsite bar a restaurant are closed. The website has said opening soon, but nothing seems to be getting done at all. The pool is closed for repairs I'm assuming since there were tarps covering some of the fence around it. It does need repair, but once again nothing on the website about that. Also, the parking lot is in terrible shape in many areas and needs immediate attention before someone trips and fall.
Now to the rooms. They are supposed to be French country but seem just to be blah. Other than the vaulted ceilings, they have no character. The walls seem like they are just painted over particle board and come off as dirty. There is no AC in the rooms. Granted, this area remains fairly cool. But unless you left the window open, the rooms would get alot warmer than the outside temp. So you had to make the choice of leaving the room vulnerable to break-in while you were out for the day, or come back to a hot room. The rooms were cleaned early which was great and housekeeping did a good job.
One more pet peeve of mine is making someone wait until check-in time to give them a room. We had driven 6 hours and arrived 1 hour before check-in at 3 p.m. The front desk told us there were no rooms ready and they would call us when they were. So after not receiving a call, we returned at 3 and were given our room. So I'm supposed to believe they cleaned every room in an hour and that they had just finished right as we walked in. Also, we asked which room we would be in, and they said they wouldn't know until we checked in. So when we returned I asked for a specific area that we liked and since we were the first people checking in I believed it wouldn't be an issue. We were told that all of those rooms had been reserved ahead of time and we should have called ahead. So an hour ago they had no idea what room we would get but they did know that those were going to be taken. They were not rude about it and in the end we were happy about the room location we received.
In summary I'm not sure we will stay here again unless they start improving and updating the inn some. It could be a great and affordable place to stay with a little work. I'm hoping it happens so we don't have to stay farther away next time.

Room Tip: Either get a room facing the pool/gardens or one on the north side facing the forest. The others all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    55
    38
    24
    44
See reviews for
61
68
14
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

All in all, we shot a wonderfull deal with this place.
A very kind welcome, free room upgrade and nicely prepared rooms did its part.
Minor downsides for us were the soft beds and thin walls.
Besides that, it is worth a recommendation.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Second time staying here. Rooms are cute clean quiet. Just outside city so not as expensive. $85 a night first time. This time bigger queen room $117 a night. Restaurant and bar are closed but they don't tell you when calling. Supposed to open again mar 2013. Only thing I didn't like was this time we did the Feb special. They told husband $85 1st night , $145 2nd night, deluxe fireplace room. We got the larger queen. But still really nice place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Decent prices, but we had some problems with our door locking. We also had trouble getting a parking spot right in front of the door, which led to some frustrations unloading luggage. The room was clean and spacious, but slightly outdated. The restaurant was hilarious as it has all these clocks that go off with random songs and random hours. All I can remember is the titanic song one. Other than these few strange things, I would say it's still a decent hotel. It's more like a motel with it's drive up to your door rooms. Very close to the highways you'll need to get anywhere and there appeared to be a bus that went by at certain times of day. No one bothered us and we were fairly happy with it overall.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed here September 29th-30th, 2012 with my daughter's cheerleading gym. They gave us a group rate and accomodated us very nicely. The rooms were nothing spectacular but they were clean and spacious. I would have liked some air conditiong but I absolutely can not stand a stuffy room and it was a particularly warm weekend. The hotel is not particularly close to the Boardwalk but the property is beautiful. I am not sure if I would stay here again or not. It is nice but I would prefer to be closer to the boardwalk and restaraunts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

this place was so horrible the lady at the front desk would give us our money back on a dispute we had came in there and made only because we were being ripped off, straight up. we paid for everything with cash but because they had our credit card on file the employee there had illegally charged our card the full amount that we had just paid for in cold hard cash. It was appauling and completely unbelieveable how frickin rude that lady was. man, we couldn't believe it. but finally, thankfully after a whole month went by and i went in there 4 different occaisions to talk to the damn same lady each time. well i finally got the money refunded back to my bank account. thanks for reading my review!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This place is horrible the person that works their completely screwed us and took our cash money payment for a room for two nights and then a week later charged our credit card the same payment fee for the two nights that we already payed for. We had gone there and spoke with them and they said that they'd call us but never did. Then a week later we tried contacting them again and called them and they said that they'd give us a callback again the next day. We are very unhappy with this place, extremely poor service and talk about customer service. This place is totally unbelievable; we can't believe they haven't done anything about it yet. Totally lame place, totally lame situation, and now its a week away from being a whole month now and they haven't done anything about it. Grrrr!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Pasatiempo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Pasatiempo

Address: 555 Highway 17, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-1812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Pasatiempo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Inn at Pasatiempo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Pasatiempo Hotel Santa Cruz
Staybridge Suites Santa Cruz
Hotel At Pasatiempo
The Inn At Pasatiempo
Inn Pasatiempo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Pasatiempo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.