We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive Indeed, and Staff needs a bit of work..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Pasatiempo

Save Saved
You added Inn at Pasatiempo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn at Pasatiempo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Highway 17, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-1812   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 51 hotels in Santa Cruz
Bristol
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Expensive Indeed, and Staff needs a bit of work..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Expensive is true enough, staff definitely needs training (especially night crew), Hotel rooms need a bit of updating (NO A/C so the rooms become extremely WARM/HOT). I was locked out of my room due to confusion on the staff part and had to walk up two hills in heels (and have not been able to wear matching shoes (cast) for over 6yrs so this was NOT an easy task). Come to find out that the staff person refused me entry into my room and holding my luggage because I was supposed to check out the same day I checked in (so how was I suppose to do that?). Finally able to have this person understand, via having her look up on the registration (search their Computer Database, geezz). And the worst part, she did not even apologise (at 2.30AM). But Adela (Head Front Desk Clerk) was rather upset about what occurred the next morn, so hopefully this issue will NOT occur again. BUT Still..

Room Tip: If one does NOT mind Heat fine. But if one does not care for temps over 20c or so, do NOT stay here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    48
    31
    24
    43
See reviews for
56
59
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The good first: comfortable beds and pleasant staff. The reason I am giving it 3 stars, however, is if it is at all warm the room is very stuffy (the overhead fan hardly puts out) and since we had to sleep with the window open for any air circulation we were woken early by people packing and leaving. All of this for $200 per night. Sunday brunch is very good (but costs extra).

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay Area ,California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We camp in Santa Cruz area every year ...But this year we were only staying a few days so we picked a hotel.We have stayed a few places over the years and not realy wanted to go back ..But this close but out of the way place was great ...Only 3 miles from town fast on and off the highway and CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN...price was as good as anyone in town so why stay in town? We had our two grandkids with us and not a problem..The have a free breakfast (not alot) but enough to get you going...We will never stay anywhere else when in Santa Cruz...Staff was great also....

Room Tip: Our room was on the east side facing the trees..But by the looks of it they were all nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnAtPasatiempo, Public Relations Manager at Inn at Pasatiempo, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We find pleasure in reading and hearing what great experiences our valued guests have had with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Yours in Hospitality,

Inn at Pasatiempo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

There is something seriously wrong with the creepy management of this awful hotel.We stayed here years ago and it was fine. But when we recently went there we were shocked how downhill it has gone. The carpet is so filthy you can't walk on on it in bare feet. The towels are paper thin and the bedspread stained. Other people staying there were also complaining. The manager, a woman named Vicki, could care less about customer service. Worse, she is frauding credit cards with bogus charges. We had friends who were charged for a hair dryer they never saw in the room. They told us of others who were charged for smoking in room although they do not smoke. She must be pocketing this fraudulent money because it is not going into the care and upkeep of the hotel. We hope she gets caught.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnAtPasatiempo, Public Relations Manager at Inn at Pasatiempo, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
We are very sorry that your experience with us was less than satisfactory. We appreciate all of our valued guests feedback and suggestions and consider them with the strong intention of improvement and progress. With that said, the accusations presented here are inaccurate and misleading. We are taking this situation very seriously and have spoken with both parties on several occasions. We pride ourselves in providing exceptional service to all guests alike. We intend to resolve this issue at hand and will continue to implement all of our policies as we see fit. We want to provide a safe, healthy, and enjoyable environment to all guests at all times. Our credible hospitality still stands strong and we take much pride in that. Thank you for extending your concern and we look forward to resolving this issue in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
The Inn at Pasatiempo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

on graduation week-end, we got to spend over $200 for normally a $120 room, in the older bldg. This was the worst hotel experience ever, with the water heater (they called it the boiler room, but it's just a water heater) motor buzzing all night. The staff is used to this complaint, since different guests got the same stock reply at the front desk. Also, the sheets smelled real musty. If you stay at this place, spend a little more for the newer bldg, overlooking the pool. btw, the pool was well maintained, perfect for a hot day, however, we had to exit by 12:30 for a reserved event. The only compensation I was offered was "no charge for the roll-away bed". Not a good Inn.

Room Tip: Newer bldg (closer to town)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Arizona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This was a fun little place for the three traveling friends. A bit dated, but rooms with really tall wooden ceilings, ceiling fans (in case you need to cool down after all that freezing fog out there!). Quaint. Good breakfast too! I see a few complaints about the lack of A/C. Well, most people and businesses in that part of California do not have A/C as it/s right on the coast and rarely even gets into the 80s.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnAtPasatiempo, Public Relations Manager at Inn at Pasatiempo, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, you are correct. Our location provides somewhere of a natural AC, but we do understand that a few days out of the summer can be warmer than others. In the event that a room is too warm for comfort, we can provide a portable fan at front desk upon request. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We hope you visit us again in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,

Inn at Pasatiempo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We checked in and fell in love with the hotel. We also had the absolute best service and food at the hotel's steakhouse. We even gave our compliments to the reservation clerk upon our check out. Our problem started after we checked out. Two days later (while still on vacation in another city) we received a "courtesy call" from the hotel's manager informing us that we had stolen a hair dryer from the room and either needed to return it immediately or be charged $35. We explained that we had not even used a hair dryer during our stay, but the manager claimed we took it. I had to ask her 3 times where the hair dryer was kept in the room before she would respond, and when I offered to come back to the hotel to look for it, I was told we would not be let in the room because other guests had checked in already and they had had to be supplied with a hair dryer. When I told her we were going to stop by anyway I was told there was no reason to because she wouldn't speak to us about it. When I asked who else I could speak to about the charge, she told me "no one." We were given no way at all to solve this dispute and were simply told our credit card was being charged, then She hung up on me, though I had not even raised my voice. Beware!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Pasatiempo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Pasatiempo

Address: 555 Highway 17, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-1812
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 51 hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Pasatiempo 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Inn at Pasatiempo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Pasatiempo Hotel Santa Cruz
Staybridge Suites Santa Cruz
Hotel At Pasatiempo
The Inn At Pasatiempo
Inn Pasatiempo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Pasatiempo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.